Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Vico-cnc Workbee

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Simon.Jackson, Jun 13, 2020.

1. Simon.Jackson

Builder

Hello everyone, Im a newbie so please be gentle. Im currently looking at a Vico-cnc workbee 1500x1500 with a 2200 water cooled spindle. this machine seems cheaper than lets the Ooznest. Can anyone give advise?
    thanks in advance
    Simon

2. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Honestly would say don't bother with the knockoff systems. Ooznest created the WorkBee and they have untold hundreds of systems out in the wild working as they should. Ooznest also offers great service after the sale, something you may or may not receive from an Etsy seller who is selling untested kits of parts from the cheapest sources he could find. Ask anyone who has dealt with mystery vendors and most will tell you it's not worth the headache. (There are plenty of examples of this here on the forum.) Many have spent far more setting their systems right than they would have spent buying a proper system to begin with.

As for the 2200 water cooled spindle, it is way too heavy for such a large system. An 800 watt spindle is about all that system will support.

The real issue here is you haven't told us what you intend to use this system for. If you could tell us what you intend to use if for we could be far more help in leading you in the right direction.

Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  3. Simon.Jackson

Builder

Thanks Rick, Im intending to build camper furniture max 18mm laminated ply. any help would be appreciated

4. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

For personal use this system should be fine with a Makita or Dewalt trim router. If you're looking to make a business of it you'll probably want to build something more substantial (unless it's for very small volumes).

5. Simon.Jackson