Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

The CAM it's not working

Discussion in 'CAM' started by jpimienta, Oct 4, 2019.

  1. jpimienta

    jpimienta New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi I used to use the openbuild's cam software and just than now i haven't have probem with it but in a few day the program don't generate the g-code in a correct way because don't close de figures that I try to do. for examples: this one is for Hello world example
    upload_2019-10-4_19-54-26.png
    This one is a simple rectangle that don't do it complete with the operation pocket
    upload_2019-10-4_19-58-32.png
    And with other programs is the same and I don't know if I'm doing something bad or is a program's problem
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    996
    I will investigate it over the weekend, we did make some code changes related to closing paths during the week, so this is possibly a bug from our side :) sorry
     
    jpimienta likes this.
  3. devloop

    devloop Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    57
    I find it is difficult to zoom in and out in the Cam screen, the screen does not show lead in or lead outs, I'm assuming it does not have that option? The Hello World example works great but cant seem to get a proper tool path on any DXF I put in, seems to add additional lines when I generate G-code want this to work, it seems very simple, just have to get beyond this
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    996
    Zoom: mousewheel + positioning mouse over where you want to zoom to

    DXFs: see From CAD to CAM, Cleaning up 2D DWG files for CNC. (and make sure your DXFs contain only Polylines, and save as R14 format)

    And then also note the above bug
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    996
    Sorry for only getting back to you now:
    For now I rolled back the code to before the changes made on 2 Oct - so ctrl+F5 (forced refresh of browser) should get you back to work for now :)
    Will finish up the open vector code and push an update later again
     
    jpimienta likes this.
  6. jpimienta

    jpimienta New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks so much for that, in one moment I thought that maybe could be a problem with my machine but I noted the code wasn't ended so for that reason I asked.
    thanks for the help
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    996
    Appreciate the bug reports :)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice