Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

The BEE and ME

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Colin Mccourt, Feb 11, 2019.

  1. Colin Hart

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    24
    PECULIER? bonkers, distriction derby more like.. Or were you sugar coating it? Lol. .

    There are a few post processors on the ooznest website..tbere website says vetrick uses Grbl and mm. Link here WorkBee Firmware Releases
     
    Alex Chambers likes this.
  2. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    510
    Looks like @GeoffH was right Colin. Thanks @GeoffH sorry to contradict you, but I remembered the problems @Colin Hart had with the grbl post and Fusion.
    Alex:oops::oops:
     
  3. GeoffH

    GeoffH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    102
    No problem Alex, I was wrong in thinking that the Duet was using grbl firmware. I just reviewed the standard vectric grbl post and notice that there is no G92 output at the start. This is certainly something that I have changed. If you want a copy of my grbl (mm) post, let me know.
     
  4. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    510
    Thanks @GeoffH, I am happy using Fusion 360 and the post Oozenest have written for it, but newbies like me and @Colin Mccourt need reminding about g-code features - we are trying to get our heads around all of this. For Colin's benefit what does G92 do (is it absolute movement) and how does he add it to his g-code if he needs to?
    Alex.
     
  5. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    Cheers @Colin Hart...bloody stupid me again I seen the post processors for Fusion and never scrolled down far enough to see the Vectric link. DOH!...see what I can do after dinner...
     
  6. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    OH and BTW thanks everyone for chipping in..Its true "The More You Find Out, The Less You Know" :rolleyes:
     
  7. GeoffH

    GeoffH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    102
    Yes, I know it's not much good for you Alex, but maybe for Colin.:) The G92 code is important for me because it tells the CNC where it is in XYZ, other codes like G54, G55 do similar things but probably for more sophisticated machinery than ours. The grbl(mm) post outputs absolute coordinates which is given with the G90 code, but after that the file should also say where it is, with the G92X...Y...Z.... When you program the part, the start position is selected in relation to the part, then before running the program, I jog the cutter to the start position in X & Y, which is normally one of the corners or centre of the workpiece; then jog the cutter to the top of the part, I use a 1mm feeler gauge (higher tech solutions are available), then move the Z up 9mm, so that it's 10mm above the part; I mostly set the top of the workpiece as Z=0 in absolute, then all cutting moves are -ve in absolute Z, but the start point 10mm above. So for example, after the the G90 comes G92X-100.0Y0Z10.0, which must correspond to the Vectric start position in your program. I think some users may rely on the limit switches but I'm not a fan of that method, probably my age:)
     
  8. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    I changed the Post Processor over and run the file in thin air..I had to stop it because it was meant to run a conventional offset pattern (a kind of spiral from the inside centre point to the outside but it went off on a diagonal towards the home position trying again after dinner..scrap the file and start again..it don't take long...see what happens in a moment or two
     
  9. Colin Hart

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    24
    Look at your gcode, top of my head g54 on the duet take it out of work coordinates and puts it back into machine coordinates..
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  10. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    THANKS EVERYBODY...You know who you are....:)

     
    GrayUK and Alex Chambers like this.
  11. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    510
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  12. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    Today my brain (or what cells there are left) finally kicked into gear and I've eventually managed to get this Workbee doing what it's meant to do.
    I set up the surfacing bit to run at 17,000 RPM (approx. 3 on the Makita) Feed Rate a slow 20mm/sec Plunge Rate 0.5mm/sec with a 40% stepover. I did all my CAD/CAM work to pocket out my Spoilerboard in order to make it level..Then saved the gCode file to disk and called it up through the Duet Web Control GUI...I took out 2 passes with 0.5mm per pass but it needs another couple of passes to get it down at the edges (tomorrow) each pass took 50 minutes.
    Again thank you people for all your assistance, I could not have done it without you :thumbsup:
     
    #162 Colin Mccourt, Mar 2, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2019
    Chillimonster likes this.
  13. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    You're telling me @Alex Chambers thanks for all your help buddy
    I need a stiff drink.:ROFL:
    Regards
    C
     
  14. Colin Hart

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    24
    Party time!!! !! Congratulations and welcome to the first cut club...
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  15. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    It's been a trip....:rolleyes:
     
  16. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    For Makita users - Just a little something I made from info available on the web, It may help us set the proper speeds. I'm going to laminate it and have it local to the machine

    Makita Spindle speeds.PNG
     
    Colin Hart and GrayUK like this.
  17. GrayUK

    GrayUK Openbuilds Team Elder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    617
    Good Job Colin.
    Can I ask you to put a copy in the Useful Tools Section? :D
    It'll just get lost in the thread otherwise. :rolleyes:
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  18. GeoffH

    GeoffH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    102
    This probably isn't a good time to mention it, but in the future you could install a VFD Spindle, the Vectric Tool Database Spindle Speed is output as an S code in the NC File and automatically set the spindle speed, with the correct wiring of course. My first effort at doing this nearly resulted in disaster, everything was going well until I decided that Chinese products ought to be earthed. Not sure what I did wrong yet, but nearly set my house on fire:(. I should have spotted that Dewalt and probably Makita don't earth but double insulate.
    But I admire your first solution, this is a good practical way.
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  19. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    I have the DeWalt settings too, so I'll make that up as well and post them both where you suggest
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  20. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    510
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  21. Stan Howe

    Stan Howe New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    sorry for your issues Colin, I don't understand the wireless need.(I run my CNC on USB direct form the Mac.) However I do have wireless and use it, but any mission critical or large files I just plug into ethernet and problem is solved. I have 1-3 ethernet jacks in most every room in the house. (I'm an electrician- I run wire, thats what i do!) I find the Ethernet is more reliable , faster (especially if many family members are online), and less likely to drop in the middle of download etc.
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  22. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    OK Guys now that I have (eventually) got my machine moving and surfacing the Spoilerboard. There may be some little lines or ridges in the new surface, now they are hardly noticeable and when you rub the surface they are very very minimal, to say the least, but they are there visually. So I'm thinking that the spindle in the "Z" axis mount is ever so slightly off. (I mean slightly). That said, I have made this crude wooden contraption (from plans on the web) to help me try and maybe correct that...

    perpendicular.jpg

    I'm loathed to do this as its not altogether too bad..should I leave alone for now or try for a little more perfection. Also, the perpendicular alignment device that I have made would, in my opinion, be better suited to being fabricated from something more rigid such as aluminum rather than wood...Any thoughts or advice on this people?
    Regards
    C
     
  23. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    510
    Sadly @Stan Howe the Duet controller @Colin Mccourt is using comes with a WiFi connection or an ethernet - but not both. I have the ethernet version and would be interested to know which proves the more reliable. Alex.
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  24. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    Sadly @Stan Howe , Alex is correct, You pay your money you make your choice, one or the other. From what I can gather and reading between the lines Ethernet would be the natural way to go if you suffer from outages but I didn't like the idea of more wires (your probably lucky in a sense that yours are tracked into walls and junction boxes in your home wiring schematic) I went with the WiFi version. Its a bit more trickier to get going as you have to use a Terminal Emulator program to assign a terminal on your computer (via USB initially) once connection is made with the Duet and after all the uploading, unpacking and installing of all the programs it needs to communicate with the Workbee then normally everything is fine...It's probably just the way this home network is set up, once that is sorted I'll be fine. We'll get there :rolleyes:
     
  25. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    510
    Hi @Colin Mccourt, it really depends on what you want to do with your machine. If, for example, the tramlines you are getting are 0.1mm high, then the router is off vertical by a fraction under 1 degree. I rather doubt that your wooden device will help you get any better than that. I also doubt, for most woodwork projects if you would be aware of that level of error.
    If your tramlines are 0.1mm or less with your 25.4mm tool then think how small they will be with a 3mm bit. 1 degree, or less, error on the side of a part is also likely to be insignificant.
    I would leave well alone until you find it's a problem - ie when you are trying to do some precision engineering.
    Alex.
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  26. GeoffH

    GeoffH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    102
    Agree with Alex regarding lines, more than good enough for wood working with typically 6.35mm and less size cutters. I'm always concerned when tool changing, tightening / undoing the collet to feel lateral movement of the z axis; but in practice, not a problem.
    Many of my programs for machining 3d surfaces can run for 6 hours and more, and I would be loathe to trust wifi, an ethernet connection to an old laptop is my method and the laptop connected to my house network with HomePlug PowerLine Adaptors. I am very old school, so I make sure that all data is local and I use the graphic verification of the toolpath in UGS before starting, lifes too short :)
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  27. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    510
    There are some jobs I would like to be able to work more accurately on and I would try to set the router up more accurately using a dial gauge. Fix the gauge to the spoiler board so that the plunger rests against the shaft of a bit in the collet (or better a length of ground rod) jog the Z axis up and down - the dial gauge will show the deviation from vertical. But then there is the problem of accurately adjusting the router mount and fixing it to the Z axis extrusion. When/if I try this I am going to see if I can modify the Z axis extrusion to allow a screw adjustment on each side.
    Alex.
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  28. Stan Howe

    Stan Howe New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  29. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    510
    I've already got a general purpose dial, but I think the main problem will be adjusting the router mount.
    Alex.
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  30. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    162
    Thanks, guys :thumbsup:
    I know what you mean..they are insignificant really and another couple of passes later due to this crap MDF I have got a level playing field. Well more of a pocket than a surfacing lol..That was me referencing the cutter down tight on the paper by a smidgeon and causing more plunge than necessary 1.5 rather than 1mm...silly newbie mistake caused more by this stupid keypad on the laptop than anything else...Gawd I hate keypads with a vengeance. The job is now complete to a fashion and I can go about trying to machine something. That, however, will have to wait until, probably Thursday as I'm working in London from tomorrow. :mad:...It's going and that's the main thing...Don't hold your breath. and call me lucky if you want to but I was able to fire up the laptop and connect to the Duet straightaway this morning???? all I can think of is I set up another channel and went through all the installation process from scratch yesterday, right back to the start...I must have missed something or its just a fluke or it will bomb out at any minute, well whatever it's working and hopefully, it will stay like that.:rolleyes:

    226.jpg 227.jpg

    One thing is for certain, I'm going to have to use my Dust-Shoe..MDF is a nightmare..cheap yes but very very nasty....
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice