Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Steps are WAY off

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by jake1223, Jun 24, 2020.

  1. jake1223

    jake1223 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just built a new acro 55 with an optlaser attached. I am attempting to laser a few test pieces but the sizing of the machine is way off. its almost as if the jog steps are doubled and the machine thinks its larger than it is. I tried to do the calibration wizard but if I hit move axis 100mm it slams into the right side of the frame. is there any way to fix this? I am using the black box and the openbuilds controller.
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,307
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    Did you load the relevant Acro profile?

    upload_2020-6-24_17-31-52.png
     
  3. jake1223

    jake1223 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, I uploaded the acro 55 settings and only inverted the homing cycle for X so itll send it to the left front, but I can not figure out why it thinks it is larger than it is
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,307
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    All parts (pulleys etc) also from openbuildspartstore.com? Should be spot on with stock setup.

    To get calibration to not crash, first lower steps per mm values manually to what you estimate the error is (if it looks like twice too big, half the values)
     
  5. jake1223

    jake1223 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    they were set at 250, I dropped to 125 and found the true steps to be 57
     
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,307
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    Refer to OpenBuilds/OpenBuilds-CONTROL - from out profile. 250 is Grbl default, so you seem to have either forgotten to save the profile, or accidentally reverted after
     
  7. jake1223

    jake1223 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saved the profile multiple times and following your video it should not have been reverted, but it’s resolved
     
  8. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    828
    You can manually calibrate
    HOWTO Calibrate your CNC Machine for MACH3 or GRBL

    In fact you can start from a totally wrong steps per mm, like '7' (lower is safer than higher) and over 2 or 3 measurement cycles get it spot on, wizards not required, just a spreadsheet or pocket calculator (-:
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice