Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Spindle suggestion?

Discussion in 'Concepts and Ideas' started by JasonNJ732, Jun 14, 2021.

1. JasonNJ732

Builder

I have the Lead 1515 and think I run too many jobs for a standard mounted router. I would like to get a true spindle added to this machine. I only cut wood so I don’t know which spindle others are using. Would like to keep it 120v if possible? Anyone have suggestions of ones that last? I worry about the cheapest ones dying on me.
    Thanks!!

Jay

SKYoung likes this.
  2. Hassan Hares

Builder

Hello Jay,
    I am also looking for a spindle for a Lead 1515 I am planning to buy. what are did you find?

3. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

4. Hassan Hares

Builder

Thank you for your response. I am new to this. my understanding is that these are not very powerful. For harder material, what do u recommend that is more powerful, and the speed can be controlled automatically.

5. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team

It's not about power, it's about balance. The spindle has to be balanced to the system which is why Peter makes the recommendations he does. He knows the systems and what balances well with them. Larger systems are not rigid enough to handle extremely powerful routers especially if you expect to push them with ease though harder materials. It doesn't work that way. The system flexes and the router takes the path of least resistance.

As you can't buy the ones Peter recommends without buying a whole system (something you already have) I would suggest looking into one of the digital input versions of the MM-1000.

Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  6. Peter Van Der Walt