Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Solidworks to Openbuilds CAM/DXF

Discussion in 'CAD' started by Terje Moe, Oct 17, 2021.

1. Terje Moe

Terje Moe New
    Builder

Hello again

So I have this part I want to machine, but it's my first time on my Openbuilds mini mill.
    The part is about 10x20x20mm and in aluminium.

When I save out the part as an dxf it comes in my Openbuilds cam as one circle and four line segments and two arc's. The cam does not seem to be able to handle the six segments as a perimeter before they are joined. I've tried a number of different versions of autocad formats, from ver 14-2018, both binar y and ascii without luck. How does one go around this problem?

Please anyone!

Tapp 2021 alu 20mm prod_printed_top.JPG Tapp 2021 alu 20mm prod_printed_iso.JPG Tapp 2021 alu 20mm prod_printed_back.JPG Tapp 2021 alu 20mm prod_printed.JPG

2. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

3. Terje Moe

Terje Moe New
    Builder

Thank you very much

Yes I understand that, but there seem to be no option for that in Solidworks, so I would have to use a 3d-party program then, any free or online version for that?

I also forget to ask, why are the part located outside to the left of the grid in Open Cam, and how do I define the size of the stock in Open Cam?

#3 Terje Moe, Oct 17, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2021
    Stevie B likes this.
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

5. Peter Van Der Walt

Your DXF has the part drawn in the negative offset - there is an origin in your sketch as well. If you set it bottom left, your drawing will be bottom left.

You don't. Your drawing is already a fixed size (hopefully when you drew it you kept stock size in mind)

6. Terje Moe

Terje Moe New
    Builder

Thanks again