Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

SketchUcam

Discussion in 'CAM' started by Mark Carew, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    371
    turn off autosave, it is a well known Sketchup crasher.
    I have Sketchup 8, 2013/2014/2015/2016 and 2017 installed and they all benefit from having autosave turned off, I have not had a crash in a long time.
     
  2. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    107

    Thanks, I'll give that a try
     
  3. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    292
    I do find it ironic that auto-save causes my Sektchup crashes, but then I am glad it auto-saved when I open the auto-saved file after the crash.o_O
     
  4. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    107
    Yes i was thinking the same thing ;)
     
  5. Nels

    Nels Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    10
    I imported a dxf file into sketch to run sketchucam for the g-codes. I am trying to enter the outside and inside cut tools, but am having problems. This is all new to me, I was wondering if there are any tutorials around. I have viewed a few and learnt somethings, but would like better documentation especially for working on imported dxf files. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
     
  6. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    371
    how to import dxf and generate gcode from it


    and the official howto videos as a playlist..


    you should also read the manual, just click the big blue question mark in the toolbar helptool_large.png
     
  7. Nels

    Nels Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thank you.
     
  8. DODDY SANJAYA

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done install sketchucam on SU 2017 for mac sierra and it works fine, but by the time i've draw project and go to g code plotter do not want to work, is there any solution? I look file : Gplot.exe , not support for Mac iOS
     
    #68 DODDY SANJAYA, Jun 30, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2017
  9. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    371
    You can use UGS or bCNC on Mac, both will display the gcode for you but you have to start them outside of sketchup.
     
  10. Fredrik KJolner

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, not sure this is the right place, but i am unable to install it, (sketchucam) after selecting the sketchup-stl-2.1.4.rbz file (in my download folder) in install extension nothing happens. I am expecting some kind of "are you sure" message. but nothing. zero, zilch, nada etc. Loading policy is set to unrestricted. i run 17.2.2555 64-bit

    any ideas appreciated.

    /Fredrik
     
  11. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    371
    well, the file to load would be 'SketchUcam-1_4d-80c0152.rbz' rather than what you mentioned above (-:
     
  12. Fredrik KJolner

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    argh.. I have two different download folders on my pc.. never even checked if it was the correct file, as it was the only one..

    Now i now better. It worked. thanks. and sorry, what a stupid mistake. wasted a couple of hours, could have just read the filename to know it was the incorrect one.

    I even copy pasted it in here!

    /fredrik

    (can we just delete these posts? pretend it never happened?)
     
  13. Glenn Weston

    Glenn Weston Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    108
    I am at wits end with Sketchup/Sketchucam crashes...... It is really causing a lot of time wasting having to re-open and try again.
    I only have crashes when trying to apply pockets to the design.
    I have switched off Auto save, and even then it was pocketing operations that would trigger the crash when auto save was being invoked, the crashes always relate to when I am using the pocketing tool no matter what, I have never had crashes at any other time.
    All I am trying to do is a bunch of circular pockets 19 in total, ranging from 8mm to 18mm.

    Any Ideas or is it just time to move on to a different program, I do like Sketchucam and appreciate the fact it is completely free and do not want to be disrespectful to the author but I am thinking that maybe I should start investigating other applications that may be more stable, there is definitely issues either with Sketchup or Sketchucam I am not sure which.

    I am unable to move to the absolute latest 2017 Version cause they have only released it on 64BIt and Will have to reload my system entirely to do so.
    I am using Versions:
    Sketchup 16.1.1450 32Bit
    Sketchucam 1.4d-80c0152
     
  14. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    371
    Hi Glenn
    Please post your Sketchup file here for me to try.

    What is your bit size?

    Have you tried using the plunge hole tool instead of the pocket tool for round holes?
    They can be any size and any depth, and there are options for exactly how the hole gets cut like 'diameter first' or 'depth first'.
    Just be sure to mark the centers of your holes and then delete the circle you have drawn before adding the plunge holes. I draw a little triangle to the left and down from the center point. This ensures it does not interfere with the plunge hole.
     
  15. Glenn Weston

    Glenn Weston Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    108
    Hi David, Thankyou for the reply....

    I have not tried the plunge hole tool, I did not even think to try that.
    I am after a round pocket 30% deep so the pocket tool was the natural thing to go for.
    I am using a 3.175mm (1/8") Bit.

    File is attached.

    Cheers Glenn.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    371
    Well, I am not getting any crashes at all.... hard to diagnose when that happens (-:

    I have attached what I did.
    First I selected the whole drawing , right click,, phlatboyz, phlatten
    This makes sure all the lines are coplanar on Z=0

    I set the top left 3 holes as plunge holes. My hole feature setting is 'diameter first'.
    This means it will first spiral bore the center of the hole, then it will do each layer from the center outward, obeying the stepover% setting. This is the best way to cut aluminum.

    I set the plunge rate to the same as the cut rate. Generally, plunging is much harder for milling bits to do so the feed is slower than normal cutting.
    BUT, I also turned on 'ramping' since this greatly eases the work of getting into the material, it also ensures that plunge holes that are larger than the bit diameter NEVER plunge straight down. The ramp moves are at 'plunge rate'. (note that this file still generates some plunge moves since some starting segments are too short to ramp.)

    Now, I know it is a bit of a chore to place many 30% deep holes, at first glance. But there are quick ways to do it
    a - lock the large hole size and just adjust the depth for each hole.
    b - place all the holes at 100% deep, then set the material thickness to the depth you want to cut.
    c - place a hole pattern. if your holes are evenly spaced you can do this directly, or you can just do a patch of enough holes for your purpose and then move them into place. Since they are all the same size and depth this is quite quick.

    I have also attached my .NC file for you to try, just in case your system cannot generate gcode from my file. I placed all the pockets by first selecting the pocket tool and making sure the settings are what I want.
    Then I used the select tool, holding CTRL, to select all the faces I want pocketed. Then I selected the pocket tool again. When you do this it instantly pockets all the selected faces.
    This isnot only a handy way to pocket a lot of stuff at once, but also gets you away from the constant redrawing as you roll over the various faces. That is something that can cause crashes if the shapes are complicated or broken in some way.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Glenn Weston

    Glenn Weston Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    108
    Thankyou David for taking the time with such detailed assistance, I will certainly give these suggestions a go.

    Very Much appreciated.

    Cheers Glenn.
     
    David the swarfer likes this.

Share This Page