Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

(Semi) automatic tool changes with Fusion 360

Discussion in 'CAM' started by Alex Chambers, May 10, 2019.

1. Alex Chambers

Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this - I am sure someone will advise me if there is somewhere more suitable. This is the start of a (steep) learning curve for me and comments from people who (unlike me) know what they are talking about will be welcome.

The main reason for this little project was to force myself (a complete beginner) to learn some G-code, but a word of caution to experienced G-coders and GRBL users in general. These experiments have been done on the Workbee with Duet controller supplied by Ooznest. It uses it's own dialect of G-code - in particular;

M291 is not ISO standard - it creates a message box

The Ooznest firmware uses G54 for machine co-ordinates - unlike G53 this is modal. It uses G55 for the first workplace co-ordinates.

This all started with someone running a homing macro after (inadvertently) running some G code in inches. @sharmstr and @David-the-swarfer suggested using g code to move to a safe place instead of a homing macro which got me thinking about (semi) automatic tool changes.

Now, I am not about to build an automatic toolchanger to bolt onto my Workbee and, as I am using a chinese clone of the Makita router, I am not going to automate undoing the collet nut, inserting new tool and re-tightening it. But I would like the machine to move to a safe place after each toolpath, wait while the tool is changed, do a Z probe and then continue with the next toolpath.

Ooznest had already done much of the macro work by writing a Z-probe macro - all I have done is add some extra code around their macro.

toolchange.g macro is the result - I tried to upload it but it won't work so I'll try pasting the text here instead