Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Router too heavy?

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by jeffmorris, Jun 16, 2019.

  1. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    52
  2. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    May also be an issue of insufficient current to the stepper. What are the electrical specs on your system?
     
  3. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    519
    The Z axis on the Lead is pretty much the same as on my workbee and I don't have that problem with my (Chinese clone) Makita so as @Rick 2.0 said likely to be something else.
    Alex.
     
  4. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    338
    I agree with above, Turn your current up, and make sure if using GRBL the $1=255 and use 1/8th step or 1/4 if possible. I see from other posts you are using an Xpro v3.
    Cheers
    Gary
     
  5. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    52
    I'm using XPro V3 and OpenBuilds Control software. I have 24V PSU.
     
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    If you want to, you can add a DQ542ma to power your Z: Hooking Up External Drivers to the CNC xPRO V3

    The drivers on the Xpro can do 2.5A max, but its more like 2A before thermal shutdowns occur. The NEMA23s need up to 2.8A, High Torques need to to 3A
     
  7. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    52
    I already have the external drivers. I'll turn the current up and see what happens. I think that the drivers are set at 1/8th step. I'll check out my machine tonight.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice