Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

really off-balance ER11A collet nut

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by jbeale, Jun 19, 2023.

1. jbeale

jbeale New
    Builder

I'm new to DIY CNC and I'm trying to build my own simple grbl-controlled CNC engraver. I built one leadscrew axis from parts, which works well. I got an assembled ballscrew axis "RATTMMOTOR EBX1605 200mm / 7.87" CNC Linear Stage Actuator" which also works well. I got a spindle motor "Genmitsu GS-775M 20000RPM 775 CNC Spindle Motor" from Amazon which runs smoothly up to full speed at 24V, or at least just the motor part of it does, with nothing attached.
    When the provided ER11A collet nut is attached to the spindle shaft, it vibrates alarmingly when run up to speed. Removing that nut from the shaft and looking inside, I see what looks like an unfinished machining job with an internal step that is quite visibly off-center, I would say at least by 1 mm. At the advertised speed of this motor (20k RPM) that amount of off-balance mass is obviously a bad thing. I don't know if I'm just unlucky, but I'd say this will never work as designed. Is there a known-good source of accurate ER11A collet nuts? The spindle shaft it is threaded on to is 14mm in diameter.

2. jbeale

jbeale New
    Builder

In case new users are allowed to post photos, here is a look at the inside of the problem ER11A nut.
    I do have a mini-lathe and I later managed to significantly improve it by removing most of the off-center material with a boring bar, but the motor still has more vibration at higher speeds than the bare shaft without the nut attached. I see Amazon also has some ER11A nuts sold separately, but looking at the user reviews I see some complaints apparently about the same issue I've got.
    ER11A-nut.jpg

3. jbeale

jbeale New
    Builder