Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Question about Lead High z

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by DanInNS, Jul 1, 2020.

Tags:
  1. DanInNS

    DanInNS New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi there,

    I am thinking about purchasing the Lead 40 x 40 with the High Z kit. I was wondering if there is any loss of accuracy with addition of the high z due to flex/sway of the z axis in the y direction? Just concerned about the added torque where the gantry meets the y rails due to the added height.

    Many thanks!
    Cheers
    Dan
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,751
    Likes Received:
    3,097
    The increased rigidity in X and Z means its more accurate (;
     
  3. DanInNS

    DanInNS New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome
    thanks
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  4. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    You could always lower the entire x axis if you do not require the total height most of the time. I am modifying my custom built CNC with the lead high z and this is what I intend to do. I am basically making it where I can have it in one of 2 positions and swap when needed.
     
    DanInNS and Peter Van Der Walt like this.
  5. DanInNS

    DanInNS New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Great idea. Thanks
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice