Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Port closed issue “blackbox”

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by alikw, Jul 11, 2020.

  1. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi
    Everything was fine in the past weeks. Today I got this problem that port closed. Same to this thread
    Blackbox issue Please help *port closed*

    I got this problem about a week ago. I just did a restart for the laptop and then it worked fine but today it doesn't work.
     
  2. Nitehawkhp

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hi,

    I've had that same problem and it is been very frustrating for me. I have tried many things to resolve this issue, and to date, the only thing that works for me is the following:
    1. Turn off the power supply feeding the black box
    2. Turn off the power on the black box
    3. Disconnect the USB cable on the black box
    4. Turn on the power supply feeding the black box
    5. Turn on the power on the black box
    6. Plug in the USB cable to the black box

    When I have performed those steps, the black box is recognized by the computer and the OpenBuilds software can then connect to it. I don't know if you'll have the same luck, but that is what has worked for me.

    Rod
     
  3. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you, still doesn’t work
     
  4. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    And when I try a flashing tool, it’s failed
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Nitehawkhp

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    17
    Have you tried clicking on the blue install drivers box to see if that will help?
     
  6. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    When I connect the USB to laptop this happen.
    nothing show to install
     

    Attached Files:

  7. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    When I connect the USB to laptop this happen. Previously, I think the green signal is continuous
     
  8. Nitehawkhp

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    17
    One last thing. Have you tried to reinstall the Openbuilds Software?
     
  9. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes in mac and window
     
  10. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I noticed that when I shout down my laptop this shaw off but when i switch on it disappears
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,311
    Likes Received:
    1,562
    Usb led colors has no deeper meaning. They just indicate rx/tx read the FT232RL datasheet if you want to know more

    More likely miswiring somewhere. Disconnect everything but the USB cable.
    A wrongly wired limit switch can short out the 5v rail and even damage the board. Refer to docs:blackbox:faq-usb-connection-failed [OpenBuilds Documentation]
     
  12. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Still doesn’t work, I tried all the solutions in this page. T
     
  13. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I take off all wires. Flash is failed in windows
     

    Attached Files:

    #13 alikw, Jul 11, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2020
  14. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    This is on mac. Flash is compete
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Nitehawkhp

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    17
    I don't know enough to help you further. Sorry.
     
    alikw likes this.
  16. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    thank you brother. i appreciate that
     
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,311
    Likes Received:
    1,562
    As if flashed successfully on the Mac it shows the controller is still alive.
    Did you test with only USB connected (no other wiring) on the mac yet?

    Any known events from when it worked till it didn't? Known shorts, accidentally disconnected a stepper motor while power was on, power surge, metal chips fell into case, yanked out USB cable damaging connector?
     
  18. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes, I tested with only usb without any wires but nothing change

    Nothing happened recently. I ran as a normal. All wires are connected properly. No shorts or accidentally disconnected
     
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,311
    Likes Received:
    1,562
    Which version do you have? Its printed on the Brains board. V2.4 - 2.7?
     
  20. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    V2.7
     
  21. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,311
    Likes Received:
    1,562
    Move the Autoreset jumper to USB Mode. Ie open Autoreset on the left, close USB mode on the right
     
    alikw likes this.
  22. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Still doesn’t work
     

    Attached Files:

  23. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Any further solutions please
     
  24. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,311
    Likes Received:
    1,562
    None at this time, seems something damaged it, from here its hard to tell you what happened to it
    Just adding to the above: Normally IT troubleshooting steps:
    tried different USB cable?
    tried different pc?
     
  25. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    So what I do? I have not made any extensions or changes after assembly the lead cnc before 2 weeks. Do I need to contact the store?
     
  26. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried another 1 usb cables and 3 pc
    1 windows that I was working with it and now says “flash failed” port closed.
    The other 2 are mac pro and iMac both of them “flash complete” but also port closed
     
  27. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,311
    Likes Received:
    1,562
    Correct yes, next step is to contact the store, including a link to this thread
     
  28. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I apologize for the many questions. I am zero in these electrical and technical things, so I ask a lot. Thanks for your quick response and for providing all the solutions.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  29. alikw

    alikw New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I install the UNO Arduino with friend help. It is connect perfectly, but still I want to install the limit switch and the probe.
     
  30. Rob Taylor

    Rob Taylor Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    344

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice