Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Plasma cutting table

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by mytechno3d, Jun 9, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Erik van Trijp

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, where can i find it? Or am i looking in the wrong place ;-) Ordered the same motion controller and motor drivers, and also the floating z-head from you :)

    How did you do the wiring for the Y axis? I see only one driver, but there are 2 motors on the OX y axis?

    Building the same table..

    Thx, Erik
     
    #61 Erik van Trijp, Jun 2, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  2. Freeway99

    Freeway99 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have the files for the plates you used to connect the legs?
     
  3. mytechno3d

    mytechno3d Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    263
    Hello
    Sorry but i'm not at home for 2 weeks.
    I will uplad files as soon i will be back at home .
     
  4. Freeway99

    Freeway99 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, thanks
     
  5. JacobE1988

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    13
    What was your estimated cost in the build so far? Not including the plasma cutter itself.
     
  6. mytechno3d

    mytechno3d Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    263
    Hello
    I think the final price is around 2000€ including the water pan.
    Regards
    Michael
     
  7. devloop

    devloop Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    63
    You mentioned in previous discussions that you were using Sheetcam to create G-code and using a GRBL based machine control, I want to do that using Sheetcam and Openbuilds Control which is Grbl, what post processor in sheetcam works? Or how did you get it to work?
     
  8. mytechno3d

    mytechno3d Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    263
    Hello
    I'm using Mach3 for this machine but i own another cutting table using the blackbox controller and GRBL. In my version of sheetcam , there is a GRBL plasma post processor who work really fine.

    Regards
     
  9. devloop

    devloop Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    63
    What version is that? I have version 6.0.30, what is the name of the post processor option? Thanks
     
  10. mytechno3d

    mytechno3d Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    263
    Sorry , i made a mistake.
    GRBL post pro is not included with sheetcam.
    I found it in a forum .
    This is the link : GRBL Post processor for Sheetcam - sheetcam.com
    It does not handle the floating head . (If you want to use it you have to insert manually some code to your gcode file .)
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  11. devloop

    devloop Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    63
    Have you used it with openbuilds control? Ive successfully downloaded so the sheetcam post processor now will send to grbl
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  12. RegPye

    RegPye New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    7
    I am also building a plasma cutter and intend to use GRBL and UGS. I have a trial version of sheetcam to test out with and although I have the GRBL PP, have no idea how to make changes to use a floating head system.
    I have built the floating head, now need to work out how to use it with the PP, any ideas on how to do that? What changes or additions would I have to make to the GRBL PP file?
     
  13. devloop

    devloop Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    63
    Playing around with Sheet Cam & Openbuilds Control, had it working well, changed my tool set to an existing set was using on another machine, now it has the screwed up radius in Openbuilds Control, really want this to work as I'm a SheetCam user and Im familiar with it, Openbuilds Cam just doesnt have the options I need, what do I need to change to make it compatible consistently
     
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,261
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    Can you elaborate?
    CONTROL just sends gcode, it doesnt modify anything?
     
  15. devloop

    devloop Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    63
    My other machine reads the post processor code just fine from sheet cam, no matter what I select in sheetcam. Something is lost in the interpretation of it, for example, a circle(hole) will be a half curve on the control, other times a 1 radius of 4 will be inverted. Or a lead in/lead out will be open, meaning the line just disconnects there showing a large gap. I would appreciate if you try it for yourself, let me know what post processor you used or any other parameters you set, Sheetcam is also free, Ive noticed thru the forum, plasma guys would appreciate the Sheet Cam and Openbuilds control, could be a very good combo
     
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,261
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    When you run the job or just on the 3D viewer (keep in mind the 3D view is just a best effort preview - its not representative of the final job)

    Do post the gcode files you have trouble with: CONTROL has a Github Issues page for bug reports: OpenBuilds/OpenBuilds-CONTROL
     
  17. devloop

    devloop Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    63
    Its just happening on the viewer, seems to work with no issue
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  18. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,261
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    Good stuff, yes, the Viewer is not perfect. Do post the files that doesnt work (with screenshots of how it should look - sheetcam for example - vs how it looks) on the Github repo and we'll try and address any bugs we can to contiually improve it
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice