Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds WorkBee 1010

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mark Carew, Jun 15, 2018.

  1. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    156
    You might have an unsupported "tool change" command in your G-code. There is a brief discussion here: UGS G-Code Operation

    Grbl does not support the M6 command. If you have a line "T1 M6" in your code, you can safely remove it.

    Edit: BTW, I believe if you just "OK" at the error, the rest of the code will execute (I think grbl handles it that way just in case you really do need to do a tool change - temporarily halting.)
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  2. Craig Hollabaugh

    Craig Hollabaugh Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    60
    gnea/grbl



     
  3. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks, Scotty and Craig. Yeah, it was an "M6" command, I did click through it and it continued to run.
    So, now I have connected all the motors and I have a "working" CNC (hooray!). I am just doing some testing by jogging the machine through all of the axes and have found a new problem; the "Y" motors are running at different rates so the Gantry is getting skewed as it travels. I notice the left "Y" motor actually skips while the right motor continues. Because of this the screws are being pushed out of the front of the machine and the flexible coupling is expanding on one side or the other. I also noticed that while idle I can easily turn one of the motors but the other won't turn, but when I disconnect the power the "stuck" motor then turns easily. Any thoughts or solutions?
     
    MaryD likes this.
  4. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    156
    You shouldn't be able to turn a motor when powered up and idle. I think check your wiring connections on the "free" motor (maybe test it alone). When energized, it should not turn by hand.

    It's probably skewing because the working motor is dragging the free motor along.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  5. Craig Hollabaugh

    Craig Hollabaugh Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    60

    Or your wheels or delrin blocks are too tight
     
  6. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    It's been a few days but I've cleaned up the problems with the motors running out of sync. I checked and adjusted the wheels (thanks, Craig), and check all my wiring (thanks, Scotty). I've been doing some jog testing and we are good! But now I have a new problem; I loaded a test toolpath (using Universal G-Code sender) and the CNC is making a very tiny version of what I've designed (I'm just running the machine without a router for test purposes). What have I set incorrectly (or not set) to make this happen? I've done some searches via the Universal G-Code Sender site but can't seem to find anyone else with this problem/solution.
     
  7. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    51
    It looks like the toolpath is set to inches and UGS is set to millimeters. Scale the toolpath up 25.4.
     
  8. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't know how to scale the toolpath
     
  9. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    51
    What program did you use to create toolpaths?
     
  10. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    627
    Keith, Do you have a G20 at the beginning of your gcode?
     
  11. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Fusion 360
     
  12. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes
     
  13. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    1,879
    Are you perhaps designing in mm and outputting in inches with the post processor from fusion? You should use generic or grbl post processor from fusion in the units you designed in.

    Another factor may be that your steps/per mm jumpers (on the board) are not matching your steps per mm in your grbl settings.
    The jumpers are usually set to 1/8th micro steps ( jumper #1 on and Jumper #2 on, Jumper #3 has no jumper) on the xPRO controller. In the grbl settings the steps per mm on the axis of this lead drive machine should be
    $100=199.100 (x, step/mm)
    $101=199.100 (y, step/mm)
    $102=199.100 (z, step/mm)
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  14. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    That fixed it! Thank you, Mark.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  15. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Mark, where can I learn more about GRBL and why this worked?
     
  16. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have installed Limit Switches to all Axes and wired to xPro Controller. I saw on a previous post the GRBL line command to program the switches with a .5" back-off but now I can't seem to find that post. Can you help me with what the GRBL instruction is?
     
  17. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    1,879
    That's great to hear @Keith Kimura :thumbsup:

    *You can read more about grbl
    gnea/grbl
    and here
    Ask Grbl CNC questions here.
    This is where @Sonny Jeon grbls active developer hangs out helping others.
    and be sure to read the xPRO wiki as well ( I am sure you have been here though since you have the home switches wired)
    Spark-Concepts/xPRO

    *On changing the limit back offs to .5"
    Try changing this line in the grbl settings
    $27=3.000 (homing pull-off, mm)
    to
    $27=12.7 (homing pull-off, mm)

    Hope this helps
     
  18. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    1,879
    That's great to hear @Keith Kimura :thumbsup:

    *You can read more about grbl
    gnea/grbl
    and here
    Ask Grbl CNC questions here.
    This is where @Sonny Jeon grbls active developer hangs out helping others.
    and be sure to read the xPRO wiki as well ( I am sure you have been here though since you have the home switches wired)
    Spark-Concepts/xPRO

    *On changing the limit back offs to .5"
    Try changing this line in the grbl settings
    $27=3.000 (homing pull-off, mm)
    to
    $27=12.7 (homing pull-off, mm)

    Hope this helps
     
  19. stargeezer

    stargeezer Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    117
    Hi Gang,

    As much as I hate yelling for help, this is one of those times. I've completed the entire build and have enjoyed the entire process, but I'm now in a whole and can't get any further without a bit of help. I have no movement of any stepper motor. I have installed UGS, all wires have been traced over and over. Voltages have been checked and I'm about to hang up the xpro and install a BOB and Mach 3.

    Thanks, Larry
     
  20. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    698
    I am no expert, but I always see people with issues, or warnings issued about UGS. I have never tried it, but I have tried GRBL panel. It worked the first time and every time. It is a quick and simple download and install. Maybe give it a try. Although, your issue may have nothing to do with UGS, but you never know. I recently posted this to help someone else out. very, very, very new to the CNC world.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  21. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    698
    The other thought I had was maybe UGS did not take the settings you chose for your steppers.
     
  22. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    With the Limit Switches wired up and GRBL code $22=1. I send command $H for Homing and Z Axis moves up to contact the Limit Switch and it results in Error 8. According to instructions I've been reading it is supposed to touch each Limit Switch, execute the "Back Off" and re-touch the Limit Switch throughout all Axes, but that's not what's happening. After each event like this the machine needs to be powered off, manually clear the Limit Switch and then $X resets UGS. Where am I going wrong?
     
  23. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    1,879
    Hello @stargeezer I agree with @Giarc on this one as I have tried to use UGS but seem to always have a hard time with it working on some pcs but not others. I ended up using grbl panel and it just works. Its not as pretty, mind you, but its stable. Give it a try and lets see if that may be the problem or if its something different.

    @Keith Kimura If at all possible could you also please try grbl panel.
    I am working on a quick video to show a machine we are wiring up now that shows a little more about the home limits added. Will post as soon as its ready
     
  24. stargeezer

    stargeezer Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    117


    Hi Mark,

    I want to thank you in advance for the extra work you are giving this project and all the assistance given to us non-programmers.it's a little tough here in the woods sometimes. So far I have tried GRBL panel without success and UGS does nothing at all.Tonight I plan to trace everything from the power source to the steppers looking for any sign of life.

    I actually believe that the problem is in the firmware. If I can get a clean working copy of the firmware and can eliminate that option I believe that I'll be far ahead of where I am now. (i hope).
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  25. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    1,879
    Hi Larry your more than welcome my friend, I am glad to help and I thank you for the kind words.
    We all learn here as a team and thats one of the things I really love about this place and its people.
    I put together a really quick video showing a quick walk through of grbl panel as well as the homing sequence so that you could see what you should be seeing on the screens when its working properly.
    Will be posting this video today. From there we will work on trying to figure out what could be causing your board to not respond so you can get up and running. :thumbsup:
     
  26. stargeezer

    stargeezer Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    117
    There are far more than one reason I enjoy shopping at Openbuilds Parts Store!

    Thanks for the help.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  27. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    1,879
    A quick video to wet the appetite as we work to release wiring and software 'how to videos' on the subject.
     
  28. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Very nice. Much appreciated. Thank you Mark.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  29. Keith Kimura

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    So here's my latest problem: the CNC is not cutting according to my designs. The attached photos and pictures show what the planned part is supposed to look like and what the resulting cut parts are coming out as. Straight lines are not straight, radiused corners (.0625 radius) are way to big and lopsided where they should be symmetrical, the hole is cut oval. Is it my speeds and feeds or is it an erroneous toolpath? My toolpath is generated from Fusion360 using GRBL/grbl configuration driver. Using the DeWalt DWP 611 at 27000 rpm, my feedrate is 62.5 in/min with a .125 Dia router bit. ArmHinge_CNC cut wrong.jpg ArmHinge_Plan.jpg ArmSlot_CNC cut wrong.jpg ArmSlot_Plan.jpg BodyHinge_Plan.jpg BodyHinge-CNC cut wrong.jpg
     
  30. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    698
    Are all your steps/mm the same? They should be close since they are all the same type of screw. If it is not calibrated to be dead on, you may cut ovals (or elongated circles when the should be round). You will get other cutting errors as well.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice