Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds OX CNC Machine

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mark Carew, Dec 15, 2013.

  1. GrayUK

    GrayUK Openbuilds Team Elder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    605
    Nice David.
    There's a lesson to be learnt, by us all there, as far as bits flying around. :eek:
    Good Job :thumbsup:
    Gray
     
  2. lucas dew

    lucas dew New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey can somone pm me who is good this the programming side of this? I have a cnc pro controller and I have been trying for weeks to get it to work but every time I maualy try to jog it it makes a noize then trips the power supplie
     
  3. Loay Abu-Husein

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the limit if any on the type or weight of the router to use. Many examples I've seen on youtube and on this website show a Dremel. Can a heavier router perhaps 1.5hp or 2hp be installed?

    another hypothetical question has there been attempts by people to build a CNC and a 3D printer by simply creating enough distance in the Z axis and creating router/extruder adapter mount? (there might be a problem or limits in the design of the OX gantry that could possibly interfere in the 3D build.)

    thank you,
     
  4. snokid

    snokid Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    100
    need more information to really help you photo would be a big plus.
    but just a guess motors are wired wrong.
    Bob
     
  5. snokid

    snokid Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    100
    yes you could mount a larger router.
    A larger router requires more power to get moving and to stop, so you are talking about larger stepper motors, you might also have to change to lead screws.
    A trim router is a good choice plenty of power not so heavy.
    Remember you aren't going 60 mph cutting so power of the spindle isn't too much of an issue.
    Bob
     
  6. plexer

    plexer Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    5
    Looking good Chris :)

    Ben
     
    1972 likes this.
  7. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Hey guys check out the Cut It Forward Program that Brandon Satterfield and Alex Lee have collaborated on.
    -Brandon
    So if your looking for a set of OX plates this is a super helpful way to go about it and it will help grow the community in the process. :thumbsup:
    Props go out to Brandon and Alex for this great idea and we hope it is a great success.
    We have added this option to the first post of the OX thread.
    Thank you
    Mark
     
  8. Steve123

    Steve123 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    12
    Great way to expand and grow the Open Build's Community. It would probably be helpful for some, who might have trouble sourcing 1/4" aluminum plate, to offer aluminum pate large enough to cut all the required plates on the OB Parts Store. I've noticed many of the on-line metal vendors really over price aluminum plate.

    Steve
     
  9. Jeremy Young

    Jeremy Young Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is a really good idea.

    Is the OX really capable of cutting such large components out of 6 mm aluminium sheet though?
     
  10. lucas dew

    lucas dew New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Motors are wired the way it says in the part two Video could you skype me or somthing
     
  11. plexer

    plexer Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    5
    Absolutely.

    Ben
     
    #2021 plexer, Jan 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2015
  12. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    That looks great @davidbrowne ! :thumbsup:
    Artcam is a tough one to learn have you looked at Aspire or maybe Cut 3D these are nice ones
    Thanks for sharing this cool project
    Mark
     
  13. Jake Fry

    Jake Fry Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    17
  14. EricPrince

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm planning on building an Ox soon to try to make some money on the side with and figured the cost would be around $650, so is there a USB alternative for the driver board that is cheaper than the Spark board currently in the parts list? In the YouTube video is see a grbl gShield was used with an arduino. I already have an arduino and know how to program it etc and i want to keep the cost down... so i kinda want to use the gshield. What is everyone's opinon on it? Is it any good?
     
  15. hck

    hck Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi, all!

    I received my (mechanical) kit today (from vsloteurope.com) and could not resist the temptation to make a bit of a start with it. I started with the Z-carriage and soon discovered that I have no eccentric spacers. I could actually get it to work quite well without them (and using normal spacers) so I figured that perhaps this was some new design without eccentrics. Then, when I started with the Y-wheels, I discovered I needed more of those spacers than I have wheels, so when I get to the X-axis, I won't have enough spacers left. Besides that, I do not get the Y to be as tight as I got it with the Z, so I figured I really need eccentrics.

    Before I start complaining, I want to make absolutely sure that I am not making a mistake here, so could anyone confirm that there should be eccentric spacers in the kit?

    Communication with them is already difficult as is and I don't want to spoil the last bit of credit I have by making some stupid mistake. :)

    Edit: Also: what size screws are used for fastening the ACME block? I have a bag of (shiny metal, not black) 15mm screws but I would expect to require 20mm here, which I do not have.... :confused:

    Edit 2: ... and the bearings don't fit on the threaded rod :\ I can correct this by making the threaded rod a bit thinner at the ends... but do I want that? :\

    Edit 3: Good morning, everyone.. :) Turns out one of the spacers for the nema17 motor is 2mm longer than the other two.... this is getting rather awkward. o_O
     
    #2025 hck, Jan 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015
  16. Kai Renz

    Kai Renz New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also got the kit from vsloteurope and there were eccentric spacers in it and those are definitely required to make the whole thing move nice and easy.

    I can't really remember what length they were but you should be able to tell by watching the video.

    I don't think this will work because you need to put the rod through the bearing for the upper mount.

    As i already said i also bought the kit from vsloteurope but my spacers were all the same. Sadly vsloteurope seems to be a bit sloppy with their orders...my kit was missing some screws, all the drop in tee nuts and i hat to drill all the holes on the plates again because they were too small.

    Hope this helps.
     
  17. Neil Rosenberg

    Neil Rosenberg Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    76
    I have had VERY good experience with the TB6560 4-axis boards available commonly on eBay. Here's an example:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-Axis-CNC-...515?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4862c0b42b

    Cost is about $60 and other than a startup issue (a solder blob) I've had no problems. Add a power supply and box and you're around $100 for a working control system. You'll need a PC with a true parallel printer port and Mach3 to make it play.

    You can find many forums that discuss this controller, with mixed reviews and many mods:
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/general-cnc-machine-related-electronics/110986-software.html

    I'm using it as-is and the proof is in the chips :thumbsup:

    Neil
     
  18. hck

    hck Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi, Kai,

    Thanks for the response. I have made the Z axis, which actually kind of works without the eccentric spacers, but as I have not assembled anything more, I could not say if the set was complete apart for the things I already had discovered. So I compared the parts list in the original build with my stock and found that I have a bag of 8mm and 10mm (where the list says 2 bags of 8mm) screws, but I do not think that is going to be a problem. I also found that I should have 20mm screws (for the ACME block, solved that now with 15mm but already noticed that was not correct). Most blocking remains the lack of eccentrics, though.

    You mentioned the drop-in t-nuts, I only have 2 bags of regular t-nuts and that is what is listed in the parts list as well.

    BTW: I sanded the threaded rod at the ends as evenly as I could, probably removing only sub-sub-sub-mm of material, and the bearing did fit. So that problem was solved.

    Here's a little clip of my Z-axis (without the eccentrics and one less spacer for the motor mounting) :



    Controlled by an Arduino Pro Mini running Grbl. G code entered manually through putty. :) I even tuned it to have the correct distance setting (400 steps per mm). :)
     
  19. KerryH

    KerryH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hey all,

    Is there any reason that this would not be a good stepper choice for my ox with intentions of using a tinyg controller (or should I use cnc xpro, I can't see any reason to sway one way or the other)

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Robert Hummel

    Robert Hummel Custom Builder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    699
    They are good enough for your :)
     
    KerryH likes this.
  21. KerryH

    KerryH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks Robert, I wanted to make sure nothing stuck out as bad. I've been very confused looking up motors seeing unipolar and bipolar and different amperage ratings and everything.
     
  22. Motions

    Motions Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    49
    Should work fine for the Ox. I'm using TinyG and very glad I upgraded.
     
    KerryH likes this.
  23. KerryH

    KerryH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    21
    Also by upgrading to 270 oz/in on the X and Y, what size Z motor would be ideal for a small size ox w/ a dwp611 size spindle, a larger nema 17 than was spec'd or just go up to a nema 23?
     
  24. Motions

    Motions Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    49
    With that size router, I would go for Nema 23.
     
    Jestah and KerryH like this.
  25. KerryH

    KerryH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well I thought I had a plan for stepper motors, anyone have any good sources for nema 23 motors here in the states? It seems like everywhere I look they want what the motor costs for shipping.
     
  26. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    The Part Store should have the Nema 23's updated by the end of this week coming.
    Thank you
     
  27. Pbmaster11

    Pbmaster11 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Guys, I am using the CNC xPRO Driver. The build is complete but I am getting no communication to the CNC or the computer. When I open GRBL Controller it says nothing on the ports. When I connect the first time do I have to download something? way confused here.

    EDIT: I found that my CNC is on port 10. But GRBL Controller says "No data from Com port after connect. Expecting GRBL version string."
     
    #2037 Pbmaster11, Jan 31, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2015
  28. hck

    hck Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Are the port settings correct? GRBL's latest version changed from 9600bps to 115k2. When you connect using e.g. putty, do you get any response? And if you already thought of that, did you close the terminal emulation program (or any other program keeping the port open) before connecting grbl controller?
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  29. SlyClockWerkz

    SlyClockWerkz Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    34
    This is a good idea, I thought about it myself at one time. I offer aluminum plates now instead of garolite plates for those who are in the market. I have them laser cut at a friends shop.
     
  30. davidbrowne

    davidbrowne Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    20
    I've got a simple question, but can't find an answer on the net. I'm running a cnc pro 2 card with grbl .9 installed,
    driving it is grbl controller ver 3.4. my question is: how does grbl controller know to use the correct commands, as the $ commands are different for grbl .8 and .9? I ask this because occasionally I get some unexpected results, eg run a program the first time, runs fine, run it again and the router heads off to the other end of the table, almost like it goes from millimeters to inches. Anybody got a clue how all this works together?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice