Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds OX CNC Machine

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mark Carew, Dec 15, 2013.

  1. Steve Fox

    Steve Fox Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    21
    I'm not sure I understand.
    I have my Ox running under GRBL and once I hit a homing switch during normal operation, it shuts the motors down.
    It figures I exceeded the size of my bed, so it shuts down and gives me a chance to fix the problem.
    I then have to move the axis away from the switch and reset the software.
    Is that what yours is doing?
    What system are you using to control the Ox?
     
  2. solarground

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi Steve, sorry i thought i had mention it, im running mach3. Im not sure if im doing something wrong with my settings ( i tried different combinations with no luck) or is something like bad switch or noise. I figured out how to home the y axis but after hitting the switch, there is no back off so the switch remains pressed. have already tried to overide the limits but it doesnt work for me. Also i cant understand how to set offsets, soft limits etc , what should i to put there? I have only two switches and what i want is to home the y and x axis. Thank you
     
  3. Steve Fox

    Steve Fox Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    21
    You may have mentioned it, but if you did, it was a ways back.
    I plan on implementing Mach 3 this summer, but as of now, I haven't used it.
    GRBL has a back off amount variable in it. I would assume that Mach 3 has something similar, but since I haven't used it, I don't know where it is.

    Sorry I can't help. Maybe someone familiar with Mach 3 will come along shortly.
     
  4. Jonny Norris

    Jonny Norris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    95
    Why have you added caps in parrallel to your inputs? These will add delay to your switches but shorted over switch have no effect other than that what so ever.

    If it's because of noise issues, pull up resistors do help filter noise spikes but again can add delay.

    You should simply be running your switches nc with no res or caps. You simply need to iron out your noise issues with correct equipotential grounding.
     
    Jestah likes this.
  5. dddman

    dddman Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    185
    It may just be a configuration. It looks like Mach3 doesn't make the difference between the home sequence and a limit/emergency situation. I can take a look tonight at my configurations for you. Can you send pictures of yours for me to compare?
     
  6. souprmage

    souprmage New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Which is the best corner for homing to? Is it easy enough to configure it whether it's left or right side? Or put another way, when I create tool paths in F360, is it expecting >0 to be moving to the left or to the right? I certainly don't want to make my stuff mirrored.
     
  7. Steve Fox

    Steve Fox Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    21
    In a normal X-Y coordinate system, zero is the bottom left corner.
    That means both X and Y are positive in the upper right quadrant.
    In all of the CAD software I use, Positive X and positive Y go out from the bottom left corner.
    For those reasons, I made the lower left corner my zero point.
     
  8. Florian Bauereisen

    Florian Bauereisen Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    60
    Hi,
    i run mach 3 as well.
    Mach3 uses the emergency or limit switch as homing in parallel. when homing it simply ignores the "emergency/limit situation"
    Mine does reference and after it moves the axis free.
    Did not even have to configure anything special..
    Only thing i could think of is to check if referencing each axis single after eachother is enabled. (general config)
    Does it work if you ref only one axisby it self (in the diagnostic screen)?

    greets

    flo
     
  9. The_Real_Hacksaw

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I were to build an OX with the gantry spanning the long axis what sort of pitfalls am I facing ? I'm looking to build a purpose built machine with a cut capacity of 54"x22"x3"
     
  10. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Ultimately it depends on what you are cutting and how heavy of a router/spindle you want to place on it. If you are wanting to hang a 2HP router off it to cut aluminum, don't get your hopes up. If you are merely wanting to hang a Dremel off it to cut foam you should be fine.

    There are a number of variations of the OX here on the forum with longer gantry beams. Scanning through them will give you a better idea of what is possible and what is required to achieve it.
     
  11. The_Real_Hacksaw

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not looking to cut aluminum however I am looking to be able to use a 2.2kw spindle on it. My thoughts are to use R&P for the long axis and either belt or acme rod for the short.
     
  12. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    That's about a 12 pound spindle. Way too heavy for an OX.
     
  13. The_Real_Hacksaw

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I was afraid of. Thanks
     
  14. SlowBipe

    SlowBipe New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    14
    Last week my Bosch Colt nearly started on fire when the top bearing froze up. As a result I decided to replace it with a Dewalt 611. I have a 1500 x 1000 mm OX that I use for my business. This started off a chain of events that is going to cost me a little bit of money.
    1. First I needed to have Chris L build me a new set of mount plates to fit the 611. This led me to thinking that I also needed to improve my accuracy around the X and Z axis.
    2. Next I added to my order with Chris a new front gantry plate so that I could go from 6 wheels to 8 wheels.
    3. When I went to OpenBuilds to get the new 8mm Screw and addtional 2 wheels I though of other ways to make the router more rigid.
    4. This led me to ordering another 20 x 60 x 1000 rail to add to my already current 2 rail X axis. Then I added 4 more wheels so that I could have 12 wheels rolling on my X axis.
    5. Then I decided to go to Double belts since I already has some belt material and I would be tearing the machine down for the rebuild anyway. So another $30 in belts was ordered.
    I will post some pictures on here after I get it all in and start the upgrade. I am hoping this will really reduce the flex.
     
    #3074 SlowBipe, Feb 8, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2016
  15. KerryH

    KerryH New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hey guys, I have decided to treat my Ox to a new bed using the extrusion from misumi.

    I have not received it yet, but obviously I want to do everything in my power to avoid cutting into it.

    I am thinking that I will use small pieces of something as a spoil board for each project I do.

    What would you guys recommend to use as a spoil board that has a little more resiliency than the MDF that I was using.

    (Example of extrusion on a shapeoko)
    [​IMG]
     
  16. SlowBipe

    SlowBipe New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    14
    Regarding my rebuild due to the Bosch Colt burn out, I received my new motor mount plates and front gantry plate from Chris. Once again I have to say what an incredible job he does on the parts he makes. It is a piece of art. You don't have to worry about anything being off because it just never is.

    Great job Chris.
     
  17. JackRipper1888

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to build an ox that has a 4'x4' work area? Or is there a better cnc to build to meet that build area?
     
  18. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Possible, sure. How well it will serve your purpose however all depends on what you expect to use it for.
     
  19. greenmonk

    greenmonk New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Someone please help! I've been going crazy trying to figure out what to adjust to make my OX work right (using a TinyG). Basically, X by itself works perfectly and Y by itself works perfectly. They don't like to work together. Anything other than a straight line on one axis does strange things. It's the same thing over and over.

    Below is a picture of a circle, box, and my name. The box is exactly 2.5" like I wanted it. The circle is having some problems. Vertical and diagonally (left to right) is 2" as planned. Horizontally and diagonally (right to left) is 1.9". You can also see the weird straightish lines it creates on the sides. On my name, you can see that "M" and "e" seem to have problems. Again, it's the same problem no matter what font I use.

    I have tried tightening wheels, loosening wheels, tightening the belts, loosening the belts....I can't get any combination to work! This is the best I can make it look. I've used both VCarve and CamBam to write the gcode and I'm having the same issues. Anyone have any suggestions on what I should try next?
     

    Attached Files:

  20. leversole

    leversole New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    14
    Quite certain you will find that your set screws on your pulleys are loose enough to let the pulley slip back and forth on the shaft...from teh looks of the circle, the first one to check is the X axis...
     
  21. greenmonk

    greenmonk New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will try that again. I actually did make sure they were tight. It was one of the things I checked. I'll pull them off and check to see if there is something keeping them from gripping the shaft well. I'll let you know tomorrow if there is any difference. I'll focus on the X axis first. Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  22. Steve Fox

    Steve Fox Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    21
    Put marks on the shafts and pulleys with a sharpie or similar.
    That will let you know if anything is moving.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  23. dddman

    dddman Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    185
    You can also replace the set screw with a real screw you can give it a little more torque :)
     
  24. KerryH

    KerryH New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    21
    I know I had issues with mine, I had to loctite them for them to not loosen up.
     
  25. Daryl

    Daryl New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey Everyone, FYI, Lowes is having a sale on the Dewalt 611 for $99.00 down from $139.00 20160211_092225.jpg 20160211_092225.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    Mark Carew likes this.
  26. KerryH

    KerryH New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have a dewalt 611 and I love it, great spindle for the price.
     
  27. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    And for those who don't have a Lowes nearby, Amazon generally drops their price to match whenever Lowes or Home Depot puts anything on sale.

    Dewalt 611 Sale.jpg
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  28. Jonny Norris

    Jonny Norris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    95
    The best way to be sure is remove the set screws and drill out and tap an m4 in them. M3 are just not up to it imo
     
    David the swarfer and GrayUK like this.
  29. micklen

    micklen New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I am interesting of building a CNC router, an the OX caught my interest.
    Would it possible to router alu and stainless with this machine?
    Thinking of putting nema 34 engines and 2.2Kw water cooled spider.

    Have that been done? Will the construction be steady for this setup?

    Have anyone build a hybrid? Laser/3D printer and CNC in one machine?

    Please share your views!

    Thanks in advance!

    Carl
     
  30. Kirtis Goulding

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi, what an amazing build! I've undertaken many builds in the past, but nothing as extreme as a CNC. I am glad I found your page. I have found we sell V-Slot extrusion rails here (Australia) Local, so i'm going to take the plunge, and start a build. Should be a lot of fun. I understand most of the build, Just wondering, If I was to expand the build, to fit a full 1.2 x 2.4 sheet, I assume the electronics would allow for adjustments in work size? I assume yes, but the electronics, and control side of things may be my weakest point.

    Thanks for any support!
    Kirt
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice