Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds Control surfacing wizard bug?

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by BruceD, Nov 10, 2019.

  1. BruceD

    BruceD New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have tried twice to surface my spoilboard and each time it runs the whole surface then cleans up the left side, goes to the right side and starts to clean up that edge. At approx 5 1/2 inches it shuts down the router, runs down the right side and returns home? Anybody else seen this issue?
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,247
    When you generate the Gcode, it puts it on the "gcode editor" tab
    There is a save button on the bottom. Download the gcode, post it here, and I'll check what went wrong (make sure the gcode you upload did indeed fail)
    Also paste the serial log of around the time it went wrong
     
  3. BruceD

    BruceD New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks I will do that, where do I find the serial log?
     
    #3 BruceD, Nov 11, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2019
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,247
    The log prints to the Serial Console:

    seriallog.PNG
     
  5. BruceD

    BruceD New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello Peter, I have attached the requested files, one this run it shut the router down almost as soon as it started the right side. Thanks for the help.
     
    #5 BruceD, Nov 13, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
  6. BruceD

    BruceD New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,247
    Just moved to a new place, havent unpacked the CNC yet, but the M5 (spindle off) is right at the end of both gcode files... (So gcode looks correct to me)
    So hows the router wired, connected and controlled?
     
  8. BruceD

    BruceD New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Router is getting power from a high power iot relay receptacle that I got off Amazon. Signal wire comes from gnd/pwm connector on blockbox. Cable is shielded and grounded on blackbox end. The IOT runs off opposite 120 leg from blackbox.
     
  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,247
    Not sure why then, as the M5 is at the end after all the moves, so not an issue with the Wizards, it puts the right spindle off command in the right spot
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice