Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds CONTROL Software

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Mark Carew, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    1,689
    The GCODE from your v-carve file violates the best practice for Grbl 1.1 Laser Gcode (with Laser Mode $32)
    NB NB NB Have a read through gnea/grbl and then find a Grbl 1.1 compatible Post

    Laser Off moves should just be G0
    The output below is Grbl 0.9 style with the laser on/off commands repeated all the time with a G1 used as the off move, its just wrong

    You do have $32=1 enabled right? (else machine will pause for each M3/4/5 command too)

    upload_2020-10-5_22-49-35.png


    Also

    Yes, and refer my earlier advice around that:

    and even earlier :)

    upload_2020-10-5_22-39-18.png

    This menu exists to "speed up" control by disabling eye-candy that you would prefer to live without. You can disable or enable features however you wish


    Regardless, different computers, different workflow preferences. You can use whatever Host you prefer, not forced to use CONTROL either. See docs:software:overview [OpenBuilds Documentation] - if Lightburn is your favourite (; go for it! Its the cool thing about an open source setup, no vendor lock-in

    Also, what is the specs of your computer?
     
    #1531 Peter Van Der Walt, Oct 5, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2020
    sharmstr likes this.
  2. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    43
    I'm using the Post that Jtech has listed on their website to use with GRBL machines. Should I mention this to them?


    Yes I have $32=1


    I tried to disable all those and it didn't change anything unfortunately


    Very True however, I really like the Openbuilds control and its my prefered program. Very user friendly and easy to use but if I have to use Lightburn for this I will.

    upload_2020-10-5_17-26-15.png
     
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    1,689
    #1533 Peter Van Der Walt, Oct 5, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2020
  4. philj

    philj New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Peter I wasnt sure if I was trying to do too much with the macros but good to know. I will check out the fork.
     
  5. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    43
    I'm hung up on why Lightburn can process the file with no interference but the Openbuilds Control is struggling? I'm running both with the same computer.
     
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    1,689
    Different architectures (control does a lot more)
    As that PC doesnt have a fast enough CPU things go laggy.
    Lightburn has less going on so gets by with the limited resources
     
    jamin35008 likes this.
  7. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    880
    the big difference between the files is that the Vcarve one is FULL of M4/M5 pairs where as lightburn does not have that.
    The way that GRBL implements laser mode means that these separate poweron/power off codes are not needed for every line, they just slow everything down since they cause an actual motion stop at the end of the line segment.
    I suspect lightburn is filtering them out and this is what makes it so smooth.

    As a test you can open the vcarve file and search/replace all M4's and M5's with a blank, then place an M4 at the start (line 8) and an M5 at the end (just before the M2) and run that through CONTROL.

    EDIT: Peter is right, this won't work because it has G1 moves between the power cycles. Ergo, that post is just wrong for GRBL's laser mode. Do tell JTech to read the GRBL wiki (-:
     
  8. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    43
    Thanks guys! I really appreciate your time and sticking around and answering all my questions. Top notch!
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  9. sergiomajluf

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Aha!!! thanks to the beauty of open source software (and your team for developing over html+js) I'm getting close to having it my way :D
    I haven't compiled anything, and have yet to figure out how to package this as an app, but the interface part is getting close to what I imagined.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    1,689
    Use Electron Builder:
    ./node_modules/.bin/electron-builder
    To build an installer under the dist directory

    Or just run it under Electron for testing:
    ./node_modules/.bin/electron .
    (space dot after electron to denote run electron against current directory)
     
    sergiomajluf likes this.
  11. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    43
    What might cause the X/Y or Z to show movement of only .04 on the control when in fact the axis is moving 1"? I verified that the machine is moving 1" but the control is showing only a .04" movement. I just noticed this when firing up the machine tonight as I was setting up a jobs zero position.

    upload_2020-10-15_20-47-41.png X/Y/Z would show .04 in the control window when the machine actually moves 1"
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    945
    Weird. 1 mm equals .04 ( actually .03937) inches. Are your settings right and saved before restarting? Let me go out and play with mine to see if I can replicate it.
     
  13. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    43
    I just downloaded the latest version before this happened. Is there a bug?
     
  14. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    945
    I do not know. I just started playing with OpenBuilds Control with my new lathe build. I use something else for my CNC router build.
     
  15. Mark Tollitt

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mark,

    I had an issue today connecting my black box controller to my window 10 computer, see attached error message. I have had no problem in connecting to this computer and a laptop in the past, and have run my machine no problem before today. I have tried removing the open builds software and reinstalling. I have noted I can not find my GRBL settings to add my lead machine 1510.

    It is obvious that I am doing something wrong. The black box is running okay and I have power to the USB connection.

    Hope you can guide me through this problem

    Regards, Mark





    Open Builds Port Problem.PNG

    Device Manager.PNG

    See my USB port COM 3 Settings. I have noted when the power supply and the black box is powered off, I note the green connection light is no longer illuminated.
     
    #1545 Mark Tollitt, Oct 16, 2020 at 2:59 AM
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2020 at 12:36 AM
  16. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    880
    try
    different cable
    different usb socket
     
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    1,689
  18. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    1,689
    No other reports yet. Reboot and try again
     
  19. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    43
    Did that already. Also reinstalled a older version but the problem still exists.
     
  20. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    1,689
    I can't replicate:

    1 i start CONTROL, connect to Grbl 1.1 on a BlackBox
    2 switch to Inch Mode
    3 click the 1" increment
    4 Click jog buttons, moves 1" (machine is calibrated) and DRO shows 1 inch of movement.

    What are you doing differently?


    jog testr.gif

    PS your screenshots shows 0.000 not 0.04? in your post above at OpenBuilds CONTROL Software
     
    #1550 Peter Van Der Walt, Oct 16, 2020 at 9:54 AM
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2020 at 10:02 AM
  21. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    43
    I was just showing where I was seeing the .04 in the DRO

    Steps 1-4 are exactly what I was doing.

    I went into my GRBL settings and noticed the "Lead 1010" settings were no longer selected in the drop down and instead set to the "custom machine" settings. I re-enabled the Lead 1010 and now the DRO is showing 1" traveled when the 1" increment is selected.
     
    Giarc likes this.
  22. Mark Tollitt

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have checked my USB Com 3 Port and it says it is working properly - see attached.

    COM 3 Serial Port.PNG

    I have checked all of my wiring and connections and all connected correctly. Note no USB connection light on the black box, changed USB cable, same issue.

    Open Builds Port Problem - Tested Sat 17.10.20.PNG

    What is PORT INFO: Port closed?

    Perhaps the black box is faulty, have you had issues with the BB similar to this problem before? I have had the machine working perfectly before yesterday.

    I just connected to my old laptop that I used to set up my original software and connections, same issue and error messages. It seem that the USB connection at the serial in to the black box is faulty. There should be a connection green light on at the BB even if the black box and power supply is switched off. I am not going to pull the BB apart, as to avoid warranty. Are you able to send me a replacement unit and I will return this one back to you? This is a inconvenience as I wanted to run my first couple of jobs this weekend.

    Kind regards,
     
    #1552 Mark Tollitt, Oct 16, 2020 at 5:16 PM
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2020 at 12:33 AM
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    1,689
    Refer to docs:blackbox:faq-usb-connection-faile [OpenBuilds Documentation]
    In particular, note the Last paragraph: if the steps in 6.3.1 to 6.3.5 does not resolve the issue, then, as per 6.3.6, contact the Store for a warranty process. The Forum cannot help with that. See

     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    [email protected]

  • Follow us on Instagram

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice