Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds CONTROL Software

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Mark Carew, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    41
    Well that make sense! Thanks Peter. I'll give it a shot tonight and let you know.
     
  2. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    41
    That was it Peter, though I don't remember ever setting it in the first place.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  3. Adam Filipowicz

    Adam Filipowicz Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    117
    Curious if a XYZ Touch probe Wizard will be added by default (I realize a macro can be setup)
     
  4. Adam Filipowicz

    Adam Filipowicz Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    117
    Also any way to allow Z raise during a pause. (as an option). being able to change a broken bit mid program would be nice in certain cases.
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    Adam Filipowicz likes this.
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    There was a good reason we don't allow moves during pause, but I cannot remember what it was... I'll get back to you if I recall, have to go look at some old comments in the code / old issues
     
  7. dean3

    dean3 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am not sure if I am in the right place to ask. Total noob here. I just finished getting my machine together last night. I found this thread searching for soft limits. Is there a way to set those in control?
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    Yes there is:
    Start CONTROL, connect to your machine, click Grbl Settings tab (assume you already loaded a machine profile), scroll down to further customise the default profile > Refer to gnea/grbl
    You'd have to make sure to set $20, but it depends on having $22, $130, $131 and $132 correctly set too. The Grbl Wiki is a goldmine of information, have a read through it for bedtime :)
     
  9. dean3

    dean3 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you!
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  10. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    39
    Just watched the new Jtech install video. I have had mine up and running for a little while now using vcarve/lightburn and I never knew I had to remove the relay jumper but I have never noticed any issues either. Should I remove it now? What will this benefit?


    Also I noticed that in the openbiulds control they switch to “Openbuilds 1010 with laser module” again something I never have done. Is this to keep the Z locked during the burn? Does it switch the machine’s 32 from 0 to 1 or 1 to 0?


    Thanks!
     
  11. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    It will eventually wear out the relay, so it is good to remove it if you can. The clicking is also quite annoying when you do grayscale work. Of course if all you do is 100% power vector jobs it just clicks at start and end of a section.


    It changes a few settings from the default LEAD1010 profile, to optimize for laser use:

     
    jamin35008 likes this.
  12. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    39
    Will the laser module disable Z movement during the burn?

    Can the replay be left out when going back into cnc mode?
     
  13. Renato De Falco Spirano

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Very new to laser engraving, very new on OpenBuilds world, very new in all this stuff..... Just assembled my laser engraver...runned some tests and I have the toolpath and various mark points on the surface. Can anyone help me in how I get rid of it? How can I configure correctly the machine to print only the image on the surface (the surface is a piece of wood - pinus)...tks
     
  14. Renato De Falco Spirano

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    As I've said, very new on this stuff...problem solved configuring GRBL PARAMETER "LASER MODE ENABLE" as true.
    I think it's good to share because of future people struggling with the same problem
     
    Gofertpc likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice