Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds CONTROL Software

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Mark Carew, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    51
    I have a weird problem with OpenBuilds Control v1.0.172 software. My CNC machine has XPro V3 board, separate stepper motor drivers, and desktop computer running Windows 10. The machine stops once in a while, the title bar displays "Not Responding" a few times, and then continue cutting until it happens again. I thought it was bad GCode generated by VCarve but it was not.
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    PC Specs? CPU/RAM

    VCarve files can be quite large, and theres a lot going on (streaming gcode in near realtime, parsing feedback, logs, 3D views, etc)
     
  3. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    51
    My computer is an HP Workstation Z220. I'll find out the specs tomorrow.
     
  4. WJC

    WJC New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi, I've been using this software for a couple of months now and I love it. But, I do have one question. I use an old cell phone as a pendant and it works great, but it seems to be stuck in inch mode and doesn't revert back to mm when I change the tab on the PC. Has anyone noticed this or is this just something on my end?
     
  5. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    627
    I just tested and my jog widget defaulted to inch mode (I remember the main app doing that as well when inch mode was first implemented) even though my main app is in MM. Might just be an oversight that the jog widget wasnt updated with the ability to change views and update view mode when changed in the main app. I've opened a ticket here: No way to change mm/in views in jog widget · Issue #85 · OpenBuilds/OpenBuilds-CONTROL
     
    WJC likes this.
  6. WJC

    WJC New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you sharmstr. I am pretty sure this worked in an earlier version.
     
  7. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    627
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Oops yes, inch/mm never made it to the Mobile jog... Will add in the next version!
     
    WJC and sharmstr like this.
  9. WJC

    WJC New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Great, thanks for all your work on this software. It gets better with every update.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt and sharmstr like this.
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    sharmstr likes this.
  11. WJC

    WJC New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  12. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    51
    My HP Workstation Z220 computer has Intel I7 3770 CPU, 8 GB system memory, and GeForce GT 720 video card. Due to a small PSU, I can't install more powerful video cards.
     
  13. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    v1.0.174 is out, should solve your issues. Have a great weekend all, see you guys back here on Mon!
     
    WJC likes this.
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Upload the file that locks you up too, so I can check it out for you next week :)
     
  15. tbirdglenn

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    I don't know if this is the right place to comment on OpenBuilds CONTROL, but I have a safety issue with the software.
    I appreciate the changes in the latest update. I like having the Save button in the GCODE Editor.
    First problem (Safety issue): When in the Add or edit Macros tab, moving the curser with the keyboard arrows moves the machine. I may be missing the point, but in my mind for safety, the keyboard moves should be locked out when the curser is focused in any input window.
    Second problem: When the machine is stopped and you vacuum some of the dust, if you hit one of the limit switches by mistake, sometimes the Serial Console reports access denied. There is no way, short of rebooting the machine, to get out of the access denied mode.
    Third a request: Prior to buying my first BlackBox and using OpenBuilds CONTROL , I was using the USG controller. The GUI for the USG had a box to input the exact distance you wish to move the X & Y jogs. The 4 canned incremental jog distances in OpenBuilds CONTROL are nice in most moves, but it would also be convenient to have a box to input a custom distance for a jog move, instead of having to make several selections of the canned moves to travel a specific distance. The canned distances for the Z-axis jogs are acceptable, but a custom box for a Z-axis jog would not be frowned upon.
    Forth a picky request: Would it be posible to have the Port connection box default to the last port selected, instead of Serial Port COM1?
    The OpenBuilds CONTROL is a very nice controller, thanks for all your dedicated work.
    Regards, TbirdGlenn
     
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    You are on the latest correct? 1.0.174?
    Pretty sure keybindings in macro editor was fixed a while back
     
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Access Denied comes from the operaring system.

    There seems to be a wiring fault. You hit switch, shorting 5v to gnd. Controller goes dead for a few seconds. Windows looses the port. Power short clears. Windows cannot reunerate port as it hasnt closed yet. Check your switch wiring against docs.openbuilds.com/blackbox
    Suspect you have v+ wired to a dumb limit. For those use 2 wire wiring, pullups are onboard
     
  18. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Use Continuous Jogging in the later versions

    Go to your BIOS and disable the legacy comport com1
     
  19. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    51
    The file causing "Not Responding" problem is on the computer at the program for mentally-handicapped people so I can't upload it until Monday.
     
  20. tbirdglenn

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    I was using ver 1.0.173. I just upgraded to ver 1.0.174 and I get the same results. When in the macro editor, hitting the up, down, or left arrow moves the machine the amount selected in the incremental jog. The right arrow does not move the machine and the space bar does not run the gcode file.
     
  21. tbirdglenn

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    Continuous Jogging does not allow moving a specific distance.

    The laptop does not have a legacy comport and the bios does not have the option to disable a legacy comport.
     
  22. tbirdglenn

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    Problem solved. Thanks to you I found a wiring error.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  23. Divvi

    Divvi New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Any reason this shouldn’t compile on a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B? I’ve followed the steps precicesly here: OpenBuilds/OpenBuilds-CONTROL

    I do get some unverified package warnings which I force install using the --allow-unauthorized flag.

    Also, npm doesn’t seem to be getting installed in the nodejs step. I’ve verified that nodejs 8.x gets installed, but npm doesn’t.

    Using the latest Raspbian Stretch with Desktop image:
    Download Raspbian for Raspberry Pi

    Let me know if I can include any logs to help.
     
  24. Grant111111111

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,
    I am using a smoothieboard, I see that there is no more support for it? I am sure there are many more users that have smoothieboards.
    thanks for all the excellent work on the software
     
  25. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    RPI is not officially supported, therefore this nice warning at the top of the Wiki:

    "Instructions below are provided as-is and expects the user to be fluent in Linux, Electron, NodeJS and Git commands. No support or assistance will be provided, this instructions is for those who want to venture where there is no support. You are on your own! :) Have fun!"

    The steps worked for me when I tried, thats all I can vouch for. Google some of the errors, work the problem :) speak to your Linux geek in the basement (;
     
  26. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    We only get the list of ports from the OS, so if you cant disable it in Hardware, disable it in Device manager.
     
  27. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Smoothieware is not supported, but Smoothieboard is: just install Grbl-LPC: cprezzi/grbl-LPC
     
  28. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Will check this week
     
  29. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    51
     

    Attached Files:

  30. Grant111111111

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok thank you, sorted out :)
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice