Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds CONTROL Software

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Mark Carew, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    1,294
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    sharmstr and Shqipetari like this.
  3. Shqipetari

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yup, I'm aware of it. Kinda hard to square time vs "quarter of the way through " or qeue of 130097 to go.

    Just a thought. If it's a pain in the neck no worries . Beggars can't be choosers.
     
  4. Shqipetari

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    Oh and also in v1.0.156:

    Keyboard Jogging/Shortcuts
    keyboard shortcuts.PNG

    And [BETA] of Continuous Jogging (@David the swarfer I think you were waiting for this)
    continous jog.png
     
    Shqipetari likes this.
  6. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    1,294
  7. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Been trying to get it but the link to the linux .deb gives me
    upload_2019-4-20_12-30-34.png
    and there is no .deb on github
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    Will check Travis build tomorrow!
     
  9. Sounddog

    Sounddog New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    just wondering if there’s any plans to increase the functionality of the jog widget on openbuilds control. I use the widget on my iPad for setting the zero points while keeping my pc in the next room, out of the dust. It would be awesome to control the probes, start, stop, home all etc... all from the widget if possible. I know the canned response would be get another computer but that’s not in the cards right now. Thanks and keep up the good work.
     
  10. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    @Sounddog I've opened up a feature request for you here: Add more functionality to jog widget · Issue #71 · OpenBuilds/SW-Machine-Drivers Peter will be the one to make a decision on it.

    I totally understand about not being able to spend any money on another computer. But if you reconsider that, note that you dont need much. I have had success with a raspberry pi and Peter has used these inexpensive 10" 1280x768 Pipo X10. There's more discussion about this around page 12 of this thread.
     
  11. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    I just thought of something. What happens if you go to http://<ipaddress of your computer>:3000 (without /jog) on your ipad?

    Edit: If that doesnt work as expected, is there a remote desktop app for the iPad that would allow you to remote control your computer?
     
  12. PatMcClintic

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hello, thank you for adding keyboard bindings.
    One quick question though..how do I close the Alarm1 modal window? My binding for unlock alarm doesn't work if that window is open.
     
  13. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    Fixed in v1.0.157
     
    #403 Peter Van Der Walt, Apr 22, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2019
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    v1.0.157 fixes the bugs introduced with the Keyboard Jogging (that broke the mobile interface)
    For now, I won't be adding the extra control buttons, but will revisit the UI in the future, could use a refresh when time allows

    Updated the DRO block with the newer version from the main application though:
    new dro.PNG
     
    #404 Peter Van Der Walt, Apr 22, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2019
    sharmstr likes this.
  15. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    OpenBuilds/SW-Machine-Drivers now has a .deb build too
    [edit]v1.0.157 is out though (has deb too)[/edit]
     
    #405 Peter Van Der Walt, Apr 22, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2019
    David the swarfer likes this.
  16. Sounddog

    Sounddog New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never though of using a remote desktop, so i checked it out and it works. Somethings can be a little rough with the touch screen on the Ipad but I can finally home all and Z-probe at the machine using the Ipad. Thanks guys
     
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    v1.0.159 or later adds the Z probe (simplified GUI without the illustration) to the mobile Jog:

    zprobe.PNG

    And got an overall UI cleanup a little

    new ui.PNG
     
    #407 Peter Van Der Walt, Apr 24, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2019
    sharmstr likes this.
  18. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    The z probe dialog is great, but how many times does someones plate thickness change? I'd really like to be able to add a keyboard shortcut for the probe (so I can add a button on the machine). Maybe a solution is to add the ability to add a keyboard shortcut to the macros. But then I suppose you'd have to have a verification function to make sure they havent assigned the shortcut to something else. Hmmmm.
     
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    Plate thickness, not all that often, but having it visible all the time is just easier (and it remembers your last input) than having a configuration etc etc

    I'll give your unique use-case some thought and get back to you

    Keyboard Macros, I was thinking about it too, but that does get tricky. For now, i'm gonna say no :)
     
    #409 Peter Van Der Walt, Apr 24, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2019
    sharmstr likes this.
  20. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    In v1.0.159 I've added RESET buttons to quickly revert to 100% feed/spindle :)
    Let me know if it causes any issues

    reset overrides.PNG
     
    David the swarfer likes this.
  21. WR_Rider

    WR_Rider New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    Pardon the noob questions. I'm not sure exactly where to post this.

    I'm getting closer on my build and I was installing the 2 "y" axis lead screws and stepper motors. Soon I will probably be installing the "black box" controller with this control software. My question what keeps the 2 motors from going out of sync when they are first powered up? On my rc servos motors when they get powered up they "center" them self's. Will the stepper motors just turn on and sit? Do you use this software to square up the gantry, as in shifting either the y or a axis?

    Thanks
     
  22. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    The stiffness of the frame ensures squareness, the two motors are free spinning when powered off, although they wont overcome the friction of a leadscrew just sitting there either, so will stay square
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  23. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    You need to square up the gantry with the motors off. Once under power, they will sit there until you send movement to them. They will stay in sync unless you hit something. I periodically check them even without running into anything.
     
  24. GrayUK

    GrayUK Openbuilds Team Elder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    623
    The two Steppers stay in sync due to your setting of the "Steps". Once you define the number of steps and their size, then the two motors will receive the same instructions and move the same amount. :thumbsup:
     
  25. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    The two drivers are hard wired together (via jumpers), steps-per-mm has no impact.

     
  26. WR_Rider

    WR_Rider New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    I installed the control software on my fairly new laptop and it gave me an error upon opening. i was wondering if the program will open even if it isn't connected to the controller? Fyi, here is the error message I'm getting when i try to open the program. Also, i prior to installing / running i updated my laptop as well as "java".
    Thanks

    upload_2019-4-29_21-10-7.png
     
  27. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    Will check today when i get to work.

    For now, grab older version from github.com/OpenBuilds/SW-Machine-Drivers/releases
     
  28. WR_Rider

    WR_Rider New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks. FYI, 1.0.158 installed and opened.

    Have a great week!
     
  29. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    Fixed in v1.0.162: OpenBuilds/SW-Machine-Drivers
    You can update from within control (It will prompt you next time you run it, check the Serial Log tab) or manually from the link above :)
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  30. Michael Laley

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also get the Java error with .161. I installed 1.0.158 installed and it opened Then I installed the .162 update and restarted the computer, and opened Control and got the same Java script error that I had with .161 version. So........I don't know where to go from here, except back to v.158. Thanks, this is the first time I have posted on the forum. By the way, I love the BlackBox controller!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice