Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds Control Jog Options/increments

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Tklus, Jan 6, 2021.

  1. Tklus

    Tklus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey all,
    I have a few suggestions to make control a little more user friendly. I have a lot of experience running CNC machines and I see a few things that would improve usability greatly. I was able to get control running on a Pi and that is awesome! so far so good.

    the first suggestion I have is to either make the jog increments adjustable by the user or change the increments to (.001; .01; .1; 1.0) for those of us who work in inches .01 is not fine enough if you are using an edge finder and locating the edge of stock precisely. my machine is a converted mill with ball screws and can utilize this small of a move.

    upload_2021-1-6_13-53-50.png

    and while we are talking about jog increments. it would be cool if there could be a keyboard command that would set each increment. rather than cycling through the different distances. a button for .001, one for .010 and so in. if this can be done, a pendant could be made that could have buttons with the different jog distances and would be a matter of pushing the button and jogging. maybe this can be done with a macro but I am not sure how that would work.

    something like this...
    [​IMG]

    Control looks to be a very promising option for DIY CNC control!
    Thanks!

    Tim
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,088
    Likes Received:
    2,672
    That's exactly the intent behind Macros (and why they can also be assigned to Keyboard shortcuts) , create your own macros do the specifics that fit the individual use cases :) - where-as the main UI has to fit the needs of beginners, and consumers, and people without experience as well, sadly compromises are always a part of life. With the power of the JS macros, you can even tweak the UI if you wish: See Help getting started with Javascript Macros in Control... for some examples

    See gnea/grbl to learn more about jogging with Grbl
    Also read the rest of the Grbl Wiki - the extra knowledge will help you create other awesome macros.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  3. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    If you're not a javacript programmer, I can help. I've been working on a bunch of UI tweaks for myself. You'll see one of them in the link that Peter gave you. This morning I've started a github repo that will house all of the other tweaks I've come up with. There's not much there atm, but I have a bunch on my computer waiting to be uploaded.

    sharmstr/OpenBuildsHacks
     
  4. Tklus

    Tklus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    Great! thanks for the reply's I will have to look into it :D
     
  5. Tklus

    Tklus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you don't mind helping out, that would be awesome! I am not a programmer... at least in java.

    I would say the most important thing for me is to be able to jog down to .001" is this an easy thing to change? maybe get rid of the 10" jog increment and replace with .001?

    thanks!!!
    Tim
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  6. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Almost done. Need to test on the machine later.
     
  7. brrian

    brrian Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    43
    I understand the UI needing to fit the needs of beginners, and I like the ability of macros to support specific-use needs, but JS macros are an advanced feature requiring programming knowledge. Beginners are only beginners until they're not. Once I knew what I was doing, I found things that I wish I could adjust. Jog increments are a good example & they come up often here. I work in inches, but need to switch to millimeters to jog in fine enough increments to touch off. And somebody must use this or it wouldn't be there, but I'd *never* jog in 10" increments. So, why not have a software settings area, separate from the GRBL settings where an intermediate user can (for example) input jog increments that work for them and that stick between software updates?

    I hope this doesn't come across the wrong way. CONTROL is hands down the best control software I've used, and keeps getting better. In my opinion it would benefit from a little love for the intermediate users & those that'll never write a JS macro, but even if you tell me to f*** off I'll happily keep using it.
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,088
    Likes Received:
    2,672
    Play with Continuous jog, and get a Probe - I never touch Incremental anymore
    In particular, the way we've implemented Continuous on Interface, is more the future I see for control. If I had my personal way, Increments would be gone (;

    This is goal that we set for CONTROL at the very beginning and feel very strongly about. "no configuration needed"


    I guess we just love Probes (; but fair enough 0.01mm is 0.254mm, probably can be better. 0.0254mm doesnt make sense though ( because How to calculate V-Slot® deflection),
    Can't really make it 0.039" (thats going to look terrible on the button lol)
     
  9. brrian

    brrian Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    43
    I mostly use Continuous jog, and I have a probe but can't always use it.

    ..but .031" would look natural to me on the button in inch mode. And .125" would instead of .1", and maybe .005" instead of .01".

    But if the direction remains 'no configuration' - something different that could be useful is a macro library here on the OpenBuilds site. Kind of what sharmstr is doing, but here & easily accessible (cuz what's a GitHub repo?). They'd be 'use at your own risk' but at least you guys would've looked at them & confirmed that they were done right.
     
  10. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    OB Control, OB CAM and the post processors are all housed on github. Not here on the forums. :) It allows us to easily share code and have version control. If you star the repo, you will get notifications when the code has been updated.
     
    Tklus likes this.
  11. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Javascript macros in the meantime
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Tklus

    Tklus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    curious about this "continuous jog" not familiar with how it works...
     
  13. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    click on continuous jog. hold down a jog key and it moves until you release.
     
  14. Tklus

    Tklus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    played with continuous jog a bit tonight. seems pretty cool! especially if one had a probe to do the final touch off.

    I had an idea to improve continuous jog, not sure if it is possible but would help folks who do not have a touch probe.

    what if when you start continuous jog, the feed starts really slow, like .001 per second or so. and the longer you hold it, the feedrate would increase to whatever the feedrate is set to in the dialog box. I use an edge finder for finding the edge of my part when machining metal and it seems like this would be a cool feature. if it is possible. it would almost be like an acceleration curve for the continuous feed.

    Thanks for the awesome support. I was using bcnc for a while but it has issues with setting the feedrate during jogging and feedrate overrides. so I am looking for an alternative. this sender looks promising. I have also been looking at UGS.

    Thanks again!
    Tim

    Shawn! nice work on the macro!!!
     
  15. Tklus

    Tklus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    and for the noob question of the day... how do I utilize the new macro? :D
     
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,088
    Likes Received:
    2,672
    Dial the jog feedrate down for the final positioning.
     
  17. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    How to add a javascript macro
    1. Go to Macros tab
    2. Click ADD
    3. Click the Javascript tab, paste this code into the text box.
    4. Give it a name and an icon of your preference, and color, keyboard shortcut, etc if you so wish
    5. Click Apply to save the macro, then click it to run. If you need to edit it, click on the gear icon.
    6. You need to run the macro whenever you start control. I have coded it so you cant run it twice.
    Please fully test at a safe Z height. DM me with any issues.
     
    #17 sharmstr, Jan 8, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2021
    Rhett E and brrian like this.
  18. Tklus

    Tklus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks, I will give it a try.

    I had another idea for probing. been researching it a bit and it does look like a really cool way to do part touch off.

    on my milling machine, I am usually machining metal, so i wouldn't necessarily need the fancy touch off probe. plus I may be touching off an angle extrusion or some other weird shape. is there a way to probe just the X or just the Y? if not, it would be cool to have that option. use continuous jog to get close and then run the probe routine to do the precise indication of the edge of the part. would need to clip one wire of the probe to the metal part and the other wire to the tool.

    probably another good use of a macro I guess if the dev's don't want to put it in the probe feature set. although I think it would be really cool to have several options in the probe dialog. X or Y or Z or XY or XYZ as probing options.

    Thanks again for the great support!
    Tim
     
  19. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Click on the probe button. Those are already there. (tabs on the top are the different probe routines)
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  20. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,088
    Likes Received:
    2,672
    You can use 0mm as offsets in custom probe option, and CONTROL has support for custom probe offsets, as well as individual axis probes
     
  21. brrian

    brrian Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    43
    I guess what I meant is, regardless of where it's housed, make it an official thing & have a "Macros" link here to go right to that place. Maybe in the Software dropdown up in the header. I haven't played with the macro you created yet but I only know it exists & the 'github repo' exists because of this thread.

    It's kind of like what you did with Documentation - most of it existed in various places & you consolidated it & made it easy.

    Okay, done... going to play with your macro.
     
  22. Tklus

    Tklus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    would you look at that!!! awesome!

    Thanks again guys!
    Tim
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,088
    Likes Received:
    2,672
    As of v1.0.277 you now have increments of 0.001", 0.01", 0.1" and 1" increments by default, no macro needed :)

    upload_2021-2-2_15-30-50.png
     
    brrian and sharmstr like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice