Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Openbuilds CAM Scaling

Discussion in 'CAM' started by Timothy Pinto, Mar 6, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Timothy Pinto

    Timothy Pinto Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    9
    I do designs with latest rev of Inkscape which is setup as 96ppi (or is it ppmm). Either way, do I have to tell Openbuild CAM software what the svg source file's scaling is?
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    913
    No it should determine that from Inkscapes XML header:

    See line 65 to 73 of OpenBuilds/cam
     
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    913
    Wait did they change it back to 96?
    If i recall it always was 96, then changed to 90 by default. Now its back to 96?
     
  4. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    654
    Can't you just tell Inkscape to utilize millimeters vs pixels? Or did I misunderstand the question. That is what I do with my laser for using K40 Whisperer (until I convert it over to GRBL).
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    913
    The parsers use px as internal unit, so you need the DPI. One of the reasons i dislike svg personally. Px is not a good unit in the real world :)

    Dxfs are awesome
     
  6. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    654
    Thanks for the info.
     
  7. Timothy Pinto

    Timothy Pinto Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    9
    V 0.92.2 2017-8-06 went to default 96. It was several months after that when I went to the new rev. I just remember having to switch the setup on MakerCam to 96.
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    913
    If it hasnt changed since the 2017 change, then we are good. Test and let me know if theres issues, but we did implement the fix back in 2017 (in the LaserWeb days already)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice