Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds ACRO Laser System

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by Mark Carew, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. dragonfire81m

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    yes just make sure its v-slot . i ran 2040 on all mine but used t-slot for the 2020 would go .
    here is a pic of mine so far been making a few custom parts . that i have been sharing on thingiverse IMG_1483.jpg
     
    WayTooManyHobbies likes this.
  2. samsagaz

    samsagaz New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, i like your Y with integrated 90° brackets :) Btw, aluminium plates will be better, right?
     
  3. dragonfire81m

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    of course . but if all your doing is laser its way over kill
     
    samsagaz likes this.
  4. samsagaz

    samsagaz New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks too much for your support!
     
  5. Ken L

    Ken L New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    Greetings. New member and first post.


    I have been following along for the past few weeks on this build and I am preparing to purchase the items needed to build my own. I intend to stay on the beaten path using the xPRO V3 and the 6w Opt Laser head with the Z axis used by WildBill.

    In an early post Peter provided a part no. and link for the 6w Opt Laser unit. The part no. shown was PLH3D-6W which according to its manual requires 12V input power. However, the link arrives at the more costly PLH3D-6W-XF, which works with 12-24V. The Arco bundle power supply option menu only lists a 24V power supply and the parts list shows a 24V power supply being used, which would not be compatible with the PLH3D-6W. The xPRO V3 seems to work with 12-24V input power, so it can cover either input voltage.

    I am hoping for some clarification on if the -XF laser head is the one required or if the less expensive 12V only PLH3D-6W, with a 12V power supply, can or should be used. Are there advantages and disadvantages of a 12V vs 24V system, other than lower voltages being more susceptible to voltage drops? I have a 12V PS so going 12V would avoid a small cost, but I am willing to spend the extra to get a better functioning tool.

    Thanks for the helpful forum.
     
  6. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    I would think 12 volts will be fine. I have a 12v laser, but a 24 v supply. I found a small 12 v power supply with the scanner I salvaged for the NEMA 14 and 9mm rod for my z axis I will use for just the laser. Not optimal, but free. It also outputs 5 v on a separate pair of wires, so I could use that to power the arduino.
     
  7. Ken L

    Ken L New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the reply Giarc. It is an interesting idea using a dedicated 12v PS for the laser. It leaves open the alternative of using the 12v only laser head with a higher voltage motion control system in the future.

    Since I am new to all of this I was concerned that steppers might not perform as well with a 12V source. I would think that lower current requirements at 24v might be a thermal advantage, but moving a laser head around doesn't seem like an especially demanding load.
     
  8. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    I like the higher voltage for the steppers, but you are probably right with it not being too much of a load. That being said, my X axis is 1500mm and there is a z axis as well, so my entire gantry may be a little heavier than most other peoples. I would have preferred a shorter gantry and longer Y. Right now I am going with 1500 X, 750 Y, and about 200 Z. I screwed up when ordering my extrusions which is why I did this. However, it works out well, because I have a space it will fit perfectly on when I clean off my work bench. Had I reversed the X and Y lengths, the steppers hanging off the sides would have made it too wide for that location.
     
  9. bekindr

    bekindr New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    How would I convert this into a pen plotter?
     
  10. dragonfire81m

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    i would thank u could swap out the laser for a 12v solenoid to move the pen up and down when writing. pretty much how a vinyl cutter works . btw most vinyl cutters come with at option . and in the long run for the size would be cheaper . i have a us cutter 36" run my about $350 and came with a lot of vinyl.
     
  11. bekindr

    bekindr New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm... yeah solenoid... that sounds like it's what I want. I see a few for $9 on ebay, so maybe I'll go that route. Just gotta figure out where to connect the two wires to the cncshield. Maybe the same as where the laser is attached? (z limit pins)?
     
    #191 bekindr, Jan 29, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2018
  12. Jacob ball

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm needing help getting my laser to turn on
    Currently using:
    PLH3D-6W(opt laser)
    xPro v3 driver board (openbuilds)
    12-24v power supply (openbuilds)
    all of my connections are correct and am using TTL/PWM
    Laserweb4

    The fan on the laser unit runs, but diode will not. I am currently using the settings suggested on the build page
    What should iI check for?
    What settings should I try to mess with?
    Should I try and revert to an older version of laserweb?
    -thanks in advance
     
  13. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,749
    Likes Received:
    3,097
    LaserWeb4 is fine (Better than older versions)

    I'd check:
    - Setup Grbl properly (Laser Mode etc as per LW documentation) (Skipping something there wont play nice)
    - Setup LW4 Properly (M4 in start gcode, PWM range proper etc, see LW documentation)
    "all of my connections are correct" - revalidate: PWM signal to Spindle, and proper shared GND? (Look couple pages back, HERE, I posted my Opt's wiring, also see THIS ONE where Mark posted photos of his Opt's wiring)
     
    #193 Peter Van Der Walt, Jan 30, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2018
    Jacob ball likes this.
  14. Luis Barros

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone, building an acro and i should be getting the step motors tomorrow, ordering in portions because i though i had the 20x40’s to be 20x20 which i had to build a delta printer, also i cant find my extra step motors so i had to order from openbuilds, but my question is about the software im going to use a nano cnc shield and where i will get the software for the board and cnc?
     
  15. WayTooManyHobbies

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    If it's a clone nano cnc shield (Arduino based), you probably need a version of GRBL older than v1.1. It's difficult to say, though, without knowing which board you have.
     
  16. Luis Barros

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your answer, I have UNO r3 and is a clone for sure but at least doesn't say "made in Italy' but "design in Italy":) I will start building the CNC today so lets see what happens..
     
  17. WayTooManyHobbies

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    The shield will define which GRBL you need. If it's the clone v3.00 or older, use one of the GRBL 0.9 variants. If by chance it's v3.10, you can use GRBL 1.1. Good luck - I'm having lots of fun with mine.
     
    Luis Barros likes this.
  18. Luis Barros

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just found out I need a laser driver board and the only ones I found out are from eBay and they will be shipping from China which will take a few weeks, anything here in the states?
     
  19. WildBill

    WildBill Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    40
    What laser are you looking to use? I use that same UNO shield with a TTL laser and only used what came with the laser.

    The other thing is you can use the current GRBL with the old boards, you just need to swap spindle and Z limit pins.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  20. Luis Barros

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 445 nm 1.6 w laser and doesn't have the driver board, came with a power supply.
     
  21. WildBill

    WildBill Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    40
    OK - most 1.6W laser's are two wire so you need a FET to drive it.
     
  22. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    158
  23. Luis Barros

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ordered the board from banggoods and will take a while to get here, I finished my build and besides waiting for the board I was trying to find software to control the CNC, just to see if they move and I never though would be that difficulty, I built 2 Prusa's and 1 Delta 3D printer before and is a ton of info about software but not as much for CNC. I'm not paying for a CNC controller software and laserweb didn't work on my computer -I built the CNC at work- and the reason could be because they basically block everything, the GRPL Panel I have no idea how to start that program and I couldn't find any info on that so I'm going to surf reprap forums to look for more info.
     
  24. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,749
    Likes Received:
    3,097
    LaserWeb and GrblPanel do two different things (LW = CAM = Converts files to gcode to send to laser [And includes a Host application]) Where GrblPanel is just the latter (Host). So you'd be better off spending an hour or two and sorting our why it doesnt run on your PC -> Post in the LaserWeb G+ Support community with full details of your machine (OS, Graphics card specs, as much details as possible, screenshots of any errors, etc) so they can help you get going. Without it you will have less of a fun time... LW allows you to Jog to check moves etc

    Also, read the documentation first: Documentation (version 4.0) - LaserWeb / CNCWeb
     
  25. Luis Barros

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Im going to try the support community and reading the docs.

    PS thats what I though I need the port 8000 open and barracuda (firewall) is blocking
     
    #205 Luis Barros, Feb 7, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2018
  26. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    96
    I think that the ACRO system is not suitable as CNC router/engraver. Light engraving such as name plates would be OK but don't try CNC routing as if you're using a larger heavier machine. I'm afraid of buying a laser kit because I don't want to burn my house down or go blind. Any suggestions?
     
  27. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,749
    Likes Received:
    3,097
    ACRO is not designed for milling applications (including light engraving, which still has vibrations and forces...).
    If you want to mill, get a C-Beam machine, MiniMill, etc.
    RE: burning the house down:
    - air assist should extinquish any flare ups
    - never run the machine unsupervised, keep a small spray bottle of water at hand (if you do get a flare up just spritz it down. Its not like a laser flare up is a huge fire, unless you leave it for a while)
    - invest in a suitable fire extinguisher.

    All that said, pretty unlikely it'll burn your house down without some help from you (place it on a combustibles surface, near some fuel sources, running inappropriate power/feeds, while walking away from it for long times)
     
  28. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    158
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  29. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    96
    I want to buy three C-Beam® Linear Actuator Bundles but they are made for NEMA 23 motors, not NEMA 17 motors. I already have CNC xPro board and 24VDC PSU. I'm not sure if CNC xPro board can drive NEMA 23 motors.
     
  30. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,749
    Likes Received:
    3,097
    Yip, it can, not optimally (2A+- max) but good enough for most use cases
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice