Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds ACRO Laser System

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by Mark Carew, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. chuckd

    chuckd New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm filling a series of small bottles in series so I was thinking of having a z-axis be sub-floor so I could run something like a rail based tray I could slide out after being filled. Only issue is that I would need to adjust the z-axis floor for example, in the future if I want to fill larger (taller) bottles, I would be able to lower the z-axis to accommodate a taller bottle. I plan on keeping the dispenser nozzle array as lightweight as possible so mostly a bunch of small diameter hoses or capillary tubes. Speed/accuracy of dispensing was a factor so the Acro setup seemed to be a good fit.

    Are there any specs regarding what the weight/size limits are for the attachment plate before operation of the system becomes unreliable?

    I plan on designing a sub-floor system with ad-hoc v-slot parts so hopefully that will anchor the legs of the Acro sufficiently and not add any additional stress, essentially leaving the Acro at stock height.
     
  2. Plotter

    Plotter New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you - much appreciated.
    Motorized Z axis add weight and influence your rigidity at high engraving speeds.
    Difficult to have it all I suppose :(
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    If I understand correctly (ie the z axis is a manual adjustment and will lift the whole acro frame itself) then yeah that'll probably do :)
     
  4. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1,866
    Check this out.
    We have been experimenting with using a laser diode on the ACRO system adding pictures to denim (jeans) and really loving the results! I just imagine all the cool custom jeans that could be made this way, fun stuff:thumbsup:

    [​IMG]
    More up close pics have been added to the bottom of the build page, check them out . When we get the proper settings we will share them out as well.
    Thanks
     
  5. Glenn Weston

    Glenn Weston Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    141
    This looks like an amazing little unit to have.

    I was just wondering if a sketchup model or plans are available for the Acro as I have a C-Beam XL that is working really well and I could easily produce the plates myself and then purchase all the other bits I need to build one, I like the idea of machines making machines and would love to have a go at it.

    Cheers Glenn.
     
  6. Jonathon Duerig

    Jonathon Duerig Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    151
    Glenn, it looks like there is a sketchup model linked under 'Files and Drawings' on the build page.

    Others, I'm going to be ordering my diode in a bit. For me, it is down to the more powerful 6w laser from Opt Lasers or the 3.8w laser from JH photonics. I like the idea of getting the most powerful diode laser available and I love the design of the Opt Laser. But the JH photonics looks like it is better set up for safety with a key switch, more safety interlocks for preventing the laser from being powered on accidentally, and easy integration with an enclosure switch that will turn off the laser automatically if the enclosure opens.

    Any thoughts on this? If you have seen the results of both, does the extra couple of watts in the Opt Laser matter a lot? Are there safety interlock kits available for the Opt Laser to replicate the safer setup of the JH Photonics kit?

    -D
     
  7. Filip.Z

    Filip.Z New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi! I need to 3d print textile (one layer - flat) around 120cmx40cm. To be able to do it I`m considering combining 3d printer head(from the 3d printer I have) and X/Y plate - ACRO SYSTEM. What do u Think about this Idea? I´m a beginner when it comes to codeing etc.. but willing to learn !
     
  8. JustinTime

    JustinTime Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    42
    All these safety options that you've mentioned are very easily implemented in a DIY style and shouldn't be too expensive to do.
     
  9. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    675
    you will need a Z axis, even if very short, since you will need to adjust layer height. use a NEMA17 motor and 40x20 rail to make the Z and it will be quite light, suitable for an ACRO frame.
     
  10. Filip.Z

    Filip.Z New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I need Z axis even though I wanna print one layer pattern?
     
  11. JustinTime

    JustinTime Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yes, you may need it despite the 'only one layer' since material may vary in thickness AND...you may change your mind about the 'only one layer' once you have it up and running. :D You don't have to make it controlled by a stepper motor, you can make it a manual control. Saves you some complexity.
     
  12. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    675
    yes, you do, because that layer will not always be the same thickness and though you could manually adjust the height, over time you will get annoyed with that, much easer to build in a Z now, maybe 50mm travel. then you can easily set Z=0 on the bed, then raise it to the height you need.
    this will also allow for automatic bed levelling, and since no bed is ever really flat, you will want this....
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  13. 3boysdad

    3boysdad New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    So with regards to the suggested use of a 20x40 rail for z height adjustment, I am not convinced the stock plate would work with both a stepper motor, the laser and the wheels necessary to work. The universal vslot plate appears too big, and the smaller one wouldn't work with a 20x40 unless it was installed perpendicular to the x-axis. (edited since originally written while waiting in line at the Baltimore airport)
     
    #43 3boysdad, Oct 2, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2017
  14. chuckd

    chuckd New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone on the Acro team recommend how to source any outstanding parts required for the full system. Specifically do you have a source for reliable limit switches, wiring harnesses (if needed) or other misc components that are not in the kit?
     
  15. 3boysdad

    3boysdad New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    chuckd - think the question really bears a bit more detail from you. there are several controller options - the one that you can buy with the kit, smoothie, a few others. i'm going to use my Azteeg Mini that has a busted thermistor port, along with some limit switches i left over from several different 3d printers, and i'm picking up 12 watt laser from AliExpress. there's a few other odd/ends i'm still mulling over on my build (wiring, host for laser web, etc). but i am with you - maybe a list of things to consider in the build instructions would be kind of cool.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  16. chuckd

    chuckd New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, I have a standard setup with XPRO motor driver, atx power supply. Maybe its trivial but i'm wondering if there are drawbacks to a given form factor for limit switches? I would prefer to use switches that are lower profile but am not sure they have the same accuracy as a hinged style option.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. 3boysdad

    3boysdad New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    if they are mechanical switches...i can't see why even the cheap ones can't work for the purposes here.
     
  18. chuckd

    chuckd New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, I might be over-thinking it but i'm not running a laser, rather a series of 100's of hoses so anything that can get snagged is a risk.
     
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    DSC03826_2__69036.1420821074.1280.1280.jpg
    Why not just grab some of our Micro Limit Switch Kit with Mounting Plate ones?


    Seperate point though, endstops on a laser is kinda useless...

    1. You simply jog to the reference point of your material (bottom left, top left, or center depending one how you placed your drawing in LaserWeb
    2. If you need super accuracy click the Laser Test button (configured to say 2% power in Settings) and it shows a feint dot you can use to doublecheck position
    (Want to doublecheck your far ends, click the Check Size button, laser moves drawing a bounding box showing the extremes of the job)
    3. Click Set Zero

    And away you go...

    Much simpler than moving drawings to exact offsets away from home / positioning materials in exact spots

    (Placing drawing with 0,0 at exact center)
    centers at 00.PNG

    (Placing drawing with 0,0 at bottom left corner)
    bottom left 00.PNG
    (Click to enlarge)
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  20. 3boysdad

    3boysdad New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    i concede your point, i've used other laser cutters and realized early on that if you are close enough and if the laser is cutting/engraving where you kind of want it....great. with the smoothie boards (that aren't converted to Grbl) the 'size' of the cutting floor is more of a guide rather than an absolute. having the mechanical end-stops is a nice thing to avoid the having the device go outside its boundry's
     
  21. Ariel Yahni

    Ariel Yahni OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    407
    Mark those images on the jeans look amazing, what brand are those, Michelangelo??
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  22. Liam Oakley

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys, wondering if anyone has created a cad model for this? I live in the UK so its rather expensive to get this shipped over, was going to attempt to build it using parts from ooznest (UK distributor of openbuilds)
     
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Files and drawings tab above
     
  24. Liam Oakley

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Peter, would there be any dxf's/drawings of the acro plates?
     
  25. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    1,065
  26. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1,866
  27. Liam Oakley

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi mate, i'm currently building it in Solidworks, but sketch-up uses lines rather than curves, could do with a dxf which is curves rather than just lines, so its easier to mate all the parts together.
     
  28. Filip.Z

    Filip.Z New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to transport Acro system, when its in one piece?(the biggest one - 150cmx150cm)
     
  29. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    We designed it in sketchup, so use the tape measure tool to measure out the holes and redraw
     
  30. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1,866
    I would say yes to this. If you have a few guys to help you out moving it. Its not heavy its just awkward at that size frame. If you plan on moving it a lot you may want consider more corner bracing to ensure it stays as square as possible.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice