Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds ACRO Laser System

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by Mark Carew, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    1,206
    What microstepping is the jumper set at on your CNC shield?
     
  2. internut

    internut New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Eighth step
     
  3. tazma

    tazma New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    What microstepping is the jumper set at on your CNC shield?

    sorry I don't understand very well what you mean
     
  4. internut

    internut New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
     

    Attached Files:

  5. tazma

    tazma New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    ah ok full jumper
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    1,206
    What size pulleys do you have on the motors? How did you come up with your number of 26.666667 for the microstepping? I thought the Acro used 14 tooth pulleys which should have 7.14 for $100 if a GT2 timing belt is used with 14 tooth pulleys an full stepping (this is what the Acro parts list says is in the kit). I would change it to 1/8 microstepping and then try $100 = 57.14 if those are the parts being used for driving the gantry.
     
    #546 Giarc, Sep 4, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2020
  7. tazma

    tazma New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, I have 20 teeth gt2 pulleys, I used them because I had excess material
    microsteps is the calculator
    GRBL settings calculator
     
  8. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    1,206
    But that number is for someone that has their controller set to 1/8 microsteps. You said yours was set at full microstepping in your reply above. If it were me, I would set the jumper to 1/8 microsteps then use that number and try it again. Also, you said you built this out of "excess material", are you 100 percent sure your stepper motors are 1.8 degree steppers? If they are 0.9 degree and you chose 1/8 microstepping that could cause you to be off by 50%.
     
    David the swarfer likes this.
  9. tazma

    tazma New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    sorry, what I tell may be a problem language translation

    I upload photo of nema17 motors if I said that I mount cnc laser with surpluses but surpluses it is all new
     

    Attached Files:

  10. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    1,154
    you need to calibrate your steps per mm values ...
    HOWTO Calibrate your CNC Machine for MACH3 or GRBL

    if you are using OpenBuildsCONTROL there is a calibration wizard in the software

    but first I think you need to increase your microstepping setting, your current setting puts the machine at about 5 steps per mm but you will need a bit more resolution than that.
     
  11. tazma

    tazma New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    hello if you already know the videos use them to calibrate routercnc thanks

    but what I don't understand now by armando lasercnc is that the value
    that I use for
    $ 100 and 101 either 50,60, 100 or whatever amount
    is that the square that I have as a sample is 50 x50 mm
    but the cnclaser always draws the square according to the value that I have the $ 100 and 101 I don't know if I explain myself

    ex. If I in $ 100 and 101 the value is 200 I will draw a square of 200x200mm if the value is 5 I will draw a square of 50x50 mm
    ignores inskape's design
     
  12. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    1,154
    I say again, you need to calibrate the machine after you increase the microstepping to 8x or 16x.
    once the machine moves 100mm when told to move 100mm, THEN you can cut your designs correctly.
     
  13. tazma

    tazma New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok you mean that i now configure grbl
    $ 100 and 101 I have 5 microsteps
    but I have to try with 8x or 16x at $ 100 and 101 ???

    I'm sorry if I don't understand what it explains
    I am retired who has a hobby to spend the days
    best possible
    Thank you
     
    #553 tazma, Sep 7, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2020
  14. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    1,154
    $100 and $101 do not store 'microsteps', they store 'steps per mm', this tells the controller how to calculate how many steps to do to move a given number of mm (or inches).
    microsteps are set by the jumpers on the drivers.

    Gcode, the code you give to the controller to tell it what to cut, is just a series of move commands, for example
    G0 X0
    tells it to move rapidly (laser off) to the current X=0 position
    G1 X100 F300
    tells it to move 100mm to the right of X0, at 300mm per minute feedrate, with the laser on.
    The controller uses the $100/101 values to convert from 'mm to move' to 'number of motor steps to do'. so 'move 100mm in X' becomes 'do (100 * $100) steps in X'.

    1 - you need to set the jumpers on the stepper drivers to 8x or 16x microsteps, your initial posts indicated that you had 1x stepping selected (no jumpers), this is not a good thing.
    2 - you need to change $100 and $101 so that the "Steps per mm" is correct for your system, you can use the calculator to find an initial value, and then use the calibration process linked earlier to fine tune the values (X and Y will differ due to belt stretch).

    After that process the machine will move exactly 100mm when told to do so. Then your drawings will engrave to the correct size every time.
    After setting these $100/101 values correctly you will not need to change them ever again, unless you change belt tension or microsteps on the drivers.
     
  15. armstrom

    armstrom New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently bought a 1515 kit for a project at work. I had some issues with the feet so I used the remaining four black corner brackets to attach the 20x20 cross pieces to the Y-Axis rails (normally they are only attached through the acrylic feet). The kit includes 8 of these brackets but following the mechanical assembly video I only used 4 of them to attach the X axis rail to the Y-axis plates. What are the remaining four brackets supposed to be used for? Just to be clear, I'm not talking about the four silver aluminum L brackets that are meant for attaching the system to a table. I'm talking about the black anodized 90 degree brackets.

    Thanks!
    -Matt
     
  16. Opt Lasers

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    9
  17. Steven B

    Steven B New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This system is super cool! Is there any specs on the carrying weight of the arm? I am thinking about modifying it to have a Z carriage attached to the moving plate and want to know how much weight I can put on it. Thanks!
     
  18. romamaker

    romamaker Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    55
    I can't say for sure how much weight you can put on it, but several people on here, including myself, have added a Z axis to the ACRO. If you search around, you can find several variations. Here is my particular take on it, with a Opt Laser: Z Axis for ACRO | OpenBuilds
     
    Steven B likes this.
  19. tazma

    tazma New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hola tengo este laser de 7000mW con grbl, el tema es que me pregunto si es posible grabar en vidrio, lo digo porque quiero hacer un tablero de ajedrez en vidrio y si es posible me gustaria que me asesoraras
    comento que se monta con arduino + shiel cnc pero no me convencen los resultados que me aconsejen la placa o el controlador
    ensamblar la estructura del ser es como un acro
    salu2
     
  20. Esel

    Esel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello OpenBuilds Community!
    I'm interessted in the OpenBuilds ACRO 1515 60"x60". But before I can purchase the set I need to know the weight of the whole system (without laser or any attachments, just the kinematic system with the stepper motors).
    If anyone could help me out I would be very grateful.
     
  21. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,094
    Likes Received:
    2,672
    Check in with the store at http://support.openbuilds.com/support/home they may be able to assist with the shipping weight
     
    Esel likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice