Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Open vector error with creating toolpath

Discussion in 'CAM' started by tsopkow, Feb 9, 2021.

1. tsopkow

tsopkow New
    Builder

Hi,
    I am a total Newbie to the world of CAM and G-Code, but I am using the Openbuilds CAM software and everything was going fine until I tried to create tool paths for cutouts in a enclosure panel. I have uploaded a screen shot of the profile that is giving me the error. In my CAD software I have made sure I selected all the lines and arcs and made this into a polyline. I have also saved the file as an SVG (when I try to use the dxf file it won't' load because of a color format error).

I would like to use an inside offset to cutout this profile, can someone explain to me how to correct the open vector error?

OpenBuilds Cam.jpg
    Regards

2. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

See docs:software:file-errors [OpenBuilds Documentation]

3. tsopkow

tsopkow New
    Builder

The CAD software that I am using allows me to convert to polyline. Also it has a SVG export option. I have tried saving as the R14 version of the dxf and I have exported it as a svg. The CAM software does not recognize the shape as closed in either file. I have attached the dxf file.

Attached Files:

4. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Checked the file, found it still has several circles in the drawing that hasn't been converted to Polylines:
    For example, use QCAD > Select All > Draw > PolyLine > PolyLine from Selection to convert everything to Polylines. (did that for you in the file attached)