Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Open builds XYZ probe issues

Discussion in 'General Electronics' started by Nik_Mani, Jul 8, 2020.

  1. Nik_Mani

    Nik_Mani New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    When it works its great, but I have broken about 4 bits now when the Z will not register. So maybe i'm doing something wrong or there is an issue with the probe itself.
    Issue.
    Setup probe, connect the sensor (magnet) to bit, test to make sure probe is registering in the troubleshooting page by touching bit to plate. Position the X and Y, and start probing every so often the Z axis will not stop after touch, and if i'm not quick enough to abort, needless to say its a broken bit.
    Is there a correct distance that the bit should be above the build plate?
     
  2. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    93
    Go to "Troubleshooting" tab, touch the magnet and the plate together and the "Probe" light should change colors. If so, put the magnet on the chuck/collet as some bits have coatings that prevent good electrical connections. Touch the plate to the bit manually and the "Probe" light should change colors. If the "Probe" light does not change colors, check wiring and check to see if there is magnet in its holder.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  3. ButlerBowls

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Nik,
    Did you ever get this figured out? I can't seem to get a positive response at all. I get lights but that is about it.
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Theres lights on the probe (proves you have power)
    But what the above refers to is Inside the Software, Openbuilds CONTROL (download from software.openbuilds.com) is a troubleshooting tab, test your probe there. If it doesnt react, check your wiring against docs.openbuilds.com/xyzprobe
     
  5. Nik_Mani

    Nik_Mani New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    So after trying over and aver, I have given up on using Z 0 on the probe. I have tried multiple computers, and multiple bits, cleaned bits, scrubbed bits, but cannot get a result that would pass a repeatability test. X, and Y seem to be better, but Z is a crap shoot. You can see it on the test page occasionally there is a severe lag in the touch response. I will have to test a standard Z probe to see if the issue is the black box, or the probe.
     
    ButlerBowls likes this.
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    The Troubleshooting tool, is not the same as an actual probe, it only checks once every +-200ms. (using the Pn: status in Grbl's feedback messages - see the Grbl Wiki for more info) and exists purely to help you check your wiring.

    The real probe with G38.2 (does a move too, so cannot use for troubleshooting tab) is realtime of course... Handled by Grbl itself

    CONTROL doesn't check when it hits, Grbl does, its instant. Grbl then sends a PRB result, which we work from but that is after the probe. Read gnea/grbl - a little understanding of how Grbl functions will help avoid you making incorrect assumptions. The only typical thing that prevents trigger/contact is electrical (bad connection between magnet and plate, via endmill, usually bad wiring, sometimes nonconductive coatings on endmill) or a user mistake (if you aren't using our wizards, its easy to get it wrong by mistake like getting the G10 commands (set coordinates) wrong, then later references to the positions would be wrong) etc

    How are you probing, using our proven wizard? Or manual commands?
     
  7. ButlerBowls

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    @Peter Van Der Walt

    Thank you for your knowledge and helping out here. Based on your answers I must say your knowledge in this space is super advanced and I appreciate that. I will be very transparent and state that I need to you to bring things down about 5-6 levels for me if you can. I am slower than you are but I am teachable. Once you teach me I won't have to ask the same question 2x... I really appreciate you.


    When I attempt to use the XYZ I do the below and I get the results stated below. Please tell me, both, what I am doing wrong and what I need to check.

    • I insert the plug into the proper spot in the Black box.
    • place the other end into the square shaped probe
    • I align the router bit over the hole in the probe
    • I attache the magnet to the bit or collet
    • In the control application I click Probe
    • make sure the proper probe is selected and click confirm (I have gone to the Troubleshooting tab and make contacts but nothing happens on that tab [there is no change])
    • I click probe
    RESULTS
    • The router/Z axis raises move diagonal lowers and touches the probe
    • The green light comes on
    • Z axis tries to drive through the probe and never lifts up


    Please tell me what I need to check or point out the glaring and obvious mistake I am making please sir. Bedankt
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Indicates the signal (blue wire) is not wired correctly in one of the three connection points, or your endmill is coated in a noncondunductive coating (test this by touching magnet to plate, thus eliminating the endmill in between) while watching the Troubleshooting tab. Note to hold it at least a second to see if it gets detected.
     
    ButlerBowls likes this.
  9. ButlerBowls

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  10. Rhett E

    Rhett E Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2020
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    38
    I'm assuming the Sharkbits sold by Open Builds are coated in non conductive coating? I've had the XYZ probe plus work great with cheap amazon bits but I blew up a sharkbit because of what others seem to be stating. the probe didn't recognize the bit but it's worked flawlessly with all the others.


    From the description for sharkbits on OB website:
    • Resistant coating protects against high heat and oxidation extending the life of the bit
     
  11. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Interesting. I havent had any issues with my sharkbits and the probe. I have had issues with the magnet placement on the collet. It likes to be on the flat. If its off the flat halfway, then the connection fails. That's why I've gotten into the habit of lifting the plate up to the bit to check connectivity before running the probe routines.
     
    Giarc likes this.
  12. Rhett E

    Rhett E Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2020
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    38
    It was probably user error. I've never placed the magnet on the collet but I'll do that moving forward.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  13. ButlerBowls

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    @Peter Van Der Walt

    Thank you for taking time to help me yesterday. My blue wire had bad contact and the probe is the most beautiful tool ever!
     
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Thats what we like to hear :)

    Glad you are sorted.
     
  15. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Happens to us all! If I was out of the shop a couple weeks, i sometimes forget the clip too. :) it is worse forgetting it attached and then turning on the router (; so watch out for that one!
     
    ButlerBowls likes this.
  16. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    1,190
    Many an alligator clip has died due to this on my homemade probe. I am much more careful with my new OB XYZ probe.
     
  17. Jeremy D

    Jeremy D New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine is brand new and cannot make it work as the light on the black box lights up and the light on the probe lights up but the light on the controls troubleshooting tab does not change and my z axis just continues to go down. i have check and checked and rewired the wires multiple times as i am getting very unhappy with the product please help if you can
     
  18. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best to speak to http://support.openbuilds.com/support/home in that case
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice