Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

ooznest OX CNC Machine

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Ryan Lock, Apr 28, 2015.

  1. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,098
    Likes Received:
    2,673
    Smaller endmill (1/4 inch would be great for 8mm holes) but make sure its a plunge capable bit. Then do a helical pocket operation so it ramps in while circling the diameter to make the larger hole.
     
  2. Ronald4418

    Ronald4418 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    33
    If I were you I would try using a Helix Entry cut with a quarter inch Endmill set around 12,000 rpm with 45 ipm Helix cut and 0.0148 Chip Load and 56 inch per minute Feed Rate. That is a Conservative calculation using GWizard, which I depend upon instead of the rates I get from VCarve Pro. I myself Hate Burning Up my Tool Bits and is why I depend upon it for my calculations. If you decide to try the Trial. Use the Shapeoko as your Default Profile the other option is to use the X-Carve though I have better results with the previous model.
     
    Alex Chambers likes this.
  3. paul.ludwa

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you both. Your advice is priceless !
    Unfortunately I don't have a dewalt d26200 6,35mm collet yet. I ordered it yesterday and am waiting to get it and then do trials.

    As it's ooznest cnc thread I will use the occasion to ask another question.
    For last few days I see a problem with voltage. It happened a few times that cnc paused during the operation and shown a message "auto paused - low voltage) or something of that sort. Has it ever happened to any others users of ooznest cnc ? what could it mean ?
     
  4. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    915
    That's not something I have heard of before - are you using the Duet controller and the latest firmware from Ooznest? If so the Duet Web Control will tell you the supply voltage and the link below tells you how to adjust it. If that's not relevant for your setup tell us what you have, especially the specifications and make of your power supply.

    Alex.

    4. Testing Your WorkBee
     
  5. paul.ludwa

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I followed your advice and succeeded to drill (pocket) 200 perfect 8mm holes with 1/4 down/cut compression bit - no burning, everything went great!

    Regarding the other issue - I have followed link you delivered and corrected voltage.
    I had to set up PSU Voltage at 24.5V to get 24 in Duet Web Control. Unfortunately during the operation voltage is not stable. It fluctuates between 22-24V.
    When it falls to much the warning pops up like this:

    11/21/2020, 3:45:57 PM: : Resume state saved
    Print auto-paused due to low voltage
    11/21/2020, 3:46:57 PM: M24: Printing resumed

    Another issue I encounter regularly is Z-axis homing. Sometimes after finished operation when I want to Home Z Axis it moves down about 5mm instead of going up until it reaches the z axis sensor. It goes 5mm down and stops behaving like it's homed because after that I can only move it further down the bed.
    I've been having this problem for a while now. What I do then is to unplug Motor, plug it back in and then it's ok for some time until it happens again.
     
    #1085 paul.ludwa, Nov 21, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2020
  6. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    915
    NEVER unplug a stepper motor with the power on. Take this up with Ooznest (sales @ooznest.co.uk) as you may have a faulty power supply, but also check your wiring very carefully for any possible short circuits - in particular look for any stray strands of wire around the connector from the power supply to the Duet, and any poor connections - trapping the insulation for example. Did you use the crimp connectors to terminate the wires from the power supply to the Duet? and are they securely on the wires?
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  7. Ronald4418

    Ronald4418 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    33
  8. paul.ludwa

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did open PSU and adjusted connections which seemed to be loose and was actually quite happy I saw it because I thought it would be the problem but it's not. the problem still appears.
    Vin Voltage on Duet Web Control fluctuates between 22.5-24 V during machine operations. When it's on but not working it's between 23.7-24V. I don't know if it's a normal behaviour for voltage to change a little bit.

    does the temperature have influence on voltage ? I am working in a basement with the window open and it's quite cold outside now (about 2-7 degrees).

    The other problem I have is Z-Axis which sometimes goes crazy and shows that it's homed when it's not. I changed limit switch cables from z to x axis but the problem is still with z-axis. I only hope that it's not a problem with Duet Controller.

    I have been using ooznest cnc for almost a year. Z axis problem started few months ago but at that time I thought it was one time thing but now it repeats more and more often. It happened a few times that I ruined my material because z axis after finished operation did not go up because it thought z axis limit switch was triggered (according to Duet Web Control panel).

    I don't know if it's worth mentioning but my y axis limit switch is wired opposite way that is why I have customconfig settings like this:
    ; ADD ANY CUSTOM SETTINGS BELOW
    ; Configure Endstops
    ;M574 X2 S1 ; Set active low endstops
    M574 Y2 S0 ;
    ;M574 Z2 S1 ;

    Is it possible to DISABLE LIMIT SWITCHES ? or at least Z axis limit switch ?
     
    #1088 paul.ludwa, Nov 23, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2020
  9. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    915
    Your Z limit switch is normally closed - so any break in the wiring will be interpreted by the Duet as the switch being triggered - check especially where the wire is close to the X drag chain and at the connector at the Duet end. The Duet with Ooznest's firmware will, of course, only respond to the switches during a homing cycle - it ignores them the rest of the time.

    The voltage on your power supply should not drop low enough to cause the Duet to shut down. When I said to check connections I was mainly thinking of the Duet end - connections can work loose with vibration, or a whisker of loose wire could cause an occasional partial short.
    Alex.
     
  10. paul.ludwa

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    On duet controller I have a lot of cables (limit switches, motor cables) coming from every side to the proper inputs. Some of them come in contact with each other as it's not possible to plug all these cables on such a small board without getting them together in contact.. Does this might be a problem ?
     
  11. Ronald4418

    Ronald4418 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    33
    Limit or Home Switches cannot be wired in a Star Configuration and if memory serves me right have to be in a Parallel Configuration. At the moment I don't have access to a reference drawing, though someone else should be able to post a reference that you can follow.
     
  12. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    915
    @paul.ludwa, if you have had this machine for under a year it's still under warranty - if you got it from Ooznest email them and tell them the problems you are having.
    Alex.
     
  13. Abdul wahab

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice