Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

ooznest OX CNC Machine

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Ryan Lock, Apr 28, 2015.

  1. Matt-Sparks

    Matt-Sparks Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    7
    Morning Marcus

    I fitted double belts from the start so have no experience without the. I read some thread and watched some YouTube clips and it just sounded a good plan. I have the 1500mm by 1500mm and that seemed a long belt to me. Because both belt teeth sit nicely together the forces are transferred down both belts which reduces the stretch. It's only relying on the single belt as it comes up from the v wheels over the gear and back to the v wheel. All I can do is that my machine has been bang on from day 1. I had my first belt jump yesterday but the was due to a g code error the and router trying to push 8mm in one pass. A nicer clamping method would be to order some of the v channel blanking plates you would need 12 of them but it would look a lot nicer than my Heath Robinson job and the angle brackets.

    Hope this helps.

    Matt
     
    Marcus1 likes this.
  2. kaffemannen

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone outfitted the ooznest OX with printer head? Would love to see a part list for that!
     
  3. Giannis Papadopoulos

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have also a question ... Does anyone using a KISS CUT module ?

    By the way which is thw way to connect a tool legth sensor to the OX CNC ?
     
  4. Rick Holder

    Rick Holder Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    4
     
    Ryan Lock likes this.
  5. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    126
    I get asked about it quite alot, but i am not aware of anyone who has carried out the mod. It would need a different electonics setup.

    Do you meant a touch probe?
     
  6. Giannis Papadopoulos

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I mean tool length sensor ... something similar to the one I attached to the reply
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    126
    From the output on that, i can't see it being compatible with the xPro.
     
  8. Giannis Papadopoulos

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which one is compatible ?
     
  9. PCModsCanada

    PCModsCanada Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    My first cut on my Ooznest OX machine :). Machine is a double belted 1000mm x 1000mm OX with a Ethernet Smooth Stepper/C62 BoB and the MDF board is 660mm x 95mm x 19mm with the cut out being 5mm deep. This was done with a 1/8" wood bit with 2.5mm passes with a total cut time was 35 minutes.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Marcus1

    Marcus1 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    Nice first cut

    I too am using Mach3 with ESS, Just double belting now.
    I manage 3mm depth cuts (3.175 Spiral up/down compression bit) @3600mm /min easily
     
    Ryan Lock likes this.
  11. lees76

    lees76 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
  12. PCModsCanada

    PCModsCanada Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks :)... I ran this with 10000rpm on the spindle and 500mm, 3600mm seems crazy fast be me lol, Tho TBH not sure what my OX could handle, I'll start pushing it more as I get comfortable using the machine.
     
  13. Marcus1

    Marcus1 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    At that spindle Speed do not go much faster in mm/min.
    Running the 3mm cutter at 24000rpm, any slower than 3600mm/min would burn the mdf
     
  14. PCModsCanada

    PCModsCanada Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the tip, I had the previous owner help me with these starting feed rates. Figured I'd start slow and then experiment with fast spindle/feed rates. It's for a hobby so i'm not all that concerned with the speed of the cuts (tho i'm guessing the slower the cut the more wear on the bit)
     
  15. Marcus1

    Marcus1 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    PC

    Starting slow is normally the best way.
    Do be careful though. The most efficient use of cutters depends on fulfilling their Chip rate. The chips take away some of the heat from the cutter. If your cutter is hot after cutting - speed up!! Doesnt sound natural does it!!
    If the cutter is warm - you are about right.

    This is the maths if you want to be precise...
    ChipLoad x CutterDiameter x NumberOfFlutes x SpindleSpeed = FeedRate
    Any of spindle speed and feedrate can now be calculated

    FYI - most of my cutters are about 0.2 Chipload

    If the feedrate is too high for you - reduce the spindlespeed
     
    crispin likes this.
  16. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    126
  17. NLucier

    NLucier Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    After many life delays, I've finally got the Ooznest 1500x1500 machine fully built, mounted to wall and trying to surface my spoil board. I am now running into a problem that I am at wits end to figure out, and seems to happen sporadically, but always when I really want to do something. If I am connected to the CNC xPro (v2 I believe w/ fast decay) and have my spindle (1.5KW air on a VFD) off, I can jog and run the program in Universal gCode Sender without a problem. As soon as I turn the spindle on, I lose visibility to the xPro. The spindle is not being controlled by the xPro at all, just via the VFD. I can see the TX/RX LEDs on the xPro are pulsing merrily when the spindle is off, but as soon as I hit the run button, those pulses get weaker as the spindle spins up to speed, stopping the flashing when the spindle gets to about 9000rpm or so on its way to whatever is the ultimate speed. I am directly connected to the xPro with the USB cable.

    Any ideas?
     
  18. PCModsCanada

    PCModsCanada Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    How close is you VFD to your xPro? also are you using shielded cable for your data lines to your motors? To me it sounds like VFD putting noise on your lines causing the controller to stop working. I personally have my VFD at the other side of the room from my controller box.
     
  19. NLucier

    NLucier Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    The VFD is mounted to the wall about 3 feet above the table, 2 feet back from the far end of the Y-axis. The line from the VFD to the spindle is not inside the energy chain that houses all of the other stuff from the xPro power supply or motors (which are all stock that came with the Ooznest Ox). I haven't yet gotten the Spindle power line hung above and will be doing that today to see if it changes anything. In a test I have tried moving the spindle all the way to the far end of the X-axis (as far away from the xPro as possible, 1.2 or so meters away) and that didn't produce anything different. The strange thing is that every once in a while it works, I just can't count on it.

    Couple of pics of my installation. 1500x1500 table.

     
    crispin likes this.
  20. PCModsCanada

    PCModsCanada Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    Are you using a shielded cable from VFD to spindle (with the shielding grounded to the VFD)? To me to sounds like interference somewhere as its relative to the spindle speed.
     
  21. PCModsCanada

    PCModsCanada Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    Build looks great BTW :)
     
  22. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    126
    Hi

    Definitely sounds like an interference issue. We now supply ferrite beads for all the wires, and a much better USB Cable with the OX now to solve this. I think your order was before we started doing this, so i could send a set out to you if you want?

    Ryan
     
  23. PCModsCanada

    PCModsCanada Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    A++++ Customer service man, If i didn't end up getting a second hand unit I would have definitely ordered from you. I make sure to mention Ooznest and point them to the website to everybody looking for a hobby CNC :). Got a link for those ferrite beads? I wouldn't mind getting some for my machine.
     
  24. NLucier

    NLucier Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi Ryan, yeah my order would have been before shipping those. I also had to do the fast decay on my controller which I think is standard now. I would love a set of what is being shipped standard now for interference prevention. I'm also looking into how I have my VFD cabling installed but anything to help clear it up is a bonus. My wife has plans for me and my toy now that we are able to spend some time on it.

    Thanks!
     
  25. NLucier

    NLucier Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    The customer service that I saw from Ooznest before I purchased mine was the main reason that, even though I live in the USA, I ordered from the UK.
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  26. gareth harvey

    gareth harvey Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Finished building my Ox, it's 1500 X 1000

    Have a problem with the left motor. All other motors seem solid, they are fairly hard to turn manually, the left hand motor turns very easy.

    The ox judders on the left hand side, have tried tightening the belt but this makes no difference.

    Is the left hand motor supposed to run free?
     
  27. gareth harvey

    gareth harvey Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Here is a video showing the ox returning to zero
     

    Attached Files:

  28. NLucier

    NLucier Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    Followup after replacing my 14awg non-shielded spindle cable with an 18awg shielded cable. SUCCESS! I have full control over my spindle location no matter where it is on the table. Even though plenty of calculators showed that the 18awg would be fine for my 1.5KW spindle, I was a little worried...until I opened the thing up to attach a ground wire inside from the connector to the chassis (seems none of the Chinese spindles have that attached and I forgot to before) and saw that the feed wires were even smaller than what I was using (I swear they were possibly 22awg). Attached the shield at the VFD end only and "Bob's Your Uncle".

    Spoil board leveling commences in the morning (kinda tired and jumpy at midnight what with the router work and a newborn in the house).

    THANKS for the suggestions!
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  29. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    126
    @NLucier Great news! So glad it was something simple, i will still get a set of ferrites sent out for extra protection :) Love how you have mounted the machine by the way. I will definitely point other customers looking to do the same thing at your post.

    @PCModsCanada Thanks! Heres the link: 0443625006 FAIR-RITE, Ferrite Core, Split, 113 ohm, 25 MHz, 300 MHz, 7.6 mm | Farnell element14

    @gareth harvey The left motor should be the same as all the others. The first thing to check would be the pulleys, maybe the grub screw is slipping. Secondly on the motor output on the xPro, is the red light showing? When it starts juddering, does the red light go off/start flickering?

    Also could you swap the ports the A & Y motors are connected to, and see if the issue sticks with the motor, or with the driver.
     
  30. PCModsCanada

    PCModsCanada Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    Awesome to hear :) 18 AWG should be good enough, how many AMPs are going through it? I personally use 18AWG for my 800W spindle.
     

Share This Page