Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Newbie issues converting svg to gcode

Discussion in 'CAD' started by Matt Thorniley, May 4, 2019.

  1. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have worked hard to get my image the way I want it in svg format. I have tried to import it to
    OpenBuilds CAM - GCODE Generator and it will not copy. I have used the same image in png format and the outline shows up, but not the image.

    I have tried inkscape and cannot save it as a gcode file. There is no option to save it as such

    I also want to know how I determine the depth of cut. These are key chains and I want to engrave the logo and drill out the top where the key ring goes.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    609
    Will it save as a .dxf in inkscape? When I open the .png on my phone it looks weird with lines through its. But that may be my phone.
     
  3. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it won't. I created this in photoshop and vectorized it there. Since it was already an svg I loaded it into inkscape as such and went to path/dynamic offset and tried to save it as a gcode or dfx. neither option is there. I tried to vectorize it in inkscape and the same process with the same results
     
  4. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    317
    I tried to open the svg in illustrator and it wont open because it says its missing linked files. I cant even view it in a browser.
     
  5. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    272
    Try this one, I redid the conversion in Inkscape and now it opens in Estlcam and looks good.
    Cheers
    Gary
     

    Attached Files:

    sharmstr likes this.
  6. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    609
    I have always had the best luck creating the image, saving it as a .bmp then opening it in Inkscape. I "trace bmp" and save as .svg. But, I use the Gimp not photoshop so I do not know all the capabilities of photoshop.
     
  7. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, you guys are great! I am so grateful for the responses. I will try the converted one and let you know. I was told by a friend today that he has the best luck tracing as well.
     
  8. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you trace in inkscape? I have tried the various tools and they don't work the way i was hoping. The pencil is way to thick and if I tried to use the nodes, they don't seem to attach. Is there a good video to watch?
     
  9. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried fusion 360 and got it perfect. Then I tried to make my tool paths and even though I have tried to input every bit I have, iit says it will not work. I can't export the drawing to another format to use.
     
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    613
    1) Looking at your file, this is some tiny detail! Gonna need like a 0.1mm endmill to do the lettering... Or laser would be the best bet actually
    2) Your SVG was not converted to Paths. CNCs need "paths" to follow. Select all in Inkscape -> Path -> Object to Path did the trick
    (Updated svg attached)
    3) After converting it to Paths, it opens fine in OpenBuilds CAM. Just need to use a really small endmill to create operations (endmill needs to fit into the part you are trying to cut out for example)

    test.PNG

    Lessons to take away from this:

    - SVG itself isnt the magic ticket. SVGs containing Paths is. PATH data is vectors that can be 'followed by the machine'. Some other types work too, but if you want to play it safe, convert to Paths. For DXF the best is to convert to Polylines. Keeping it simple helps the parsers understand the file with less fuss)
    - Artwork needs to be appropriate to the tooling, or vice versa. This, it not really a project that can be executed well, by milling, the detail is too small. Its ideal for Lasering though
    This tiny detail will need a really tiny endmill, and then this job - especially in the 8x mass production sheet, will take a really long time
    (Unless you go for paid options like Vectric, and do a V-Carve using a vbit - the tiny point on the v-bit using a vcarving algorithm can do it)

    Attached an openBuilds CAM workspace export (obc file - zipped to allow upload on forum. Download zip, extract the OBC from it. ) > Go to cam.openbuilds.com -> File -> Open Workspace to open the .obc file (I did the guitar and text as pockets with a 0.1mm endmill, and the outline as a Outside Cut 1.5mm deep) - then you can edit the Toolpaths on the right to get an idea of the settings I used.
     

    Attached Files:

    Alex Chambers likes this.
  11. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    343
    I use (cheap Chinese) V engraving bits for jobs like this - 10 degree angle 0.1 mm tip diameter. They are a bit more robust than a 0.1mm endmill.
    Alex. :thumbsup:
     
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    613
    Same here (;
    (and if you snap just a little off the point first, its even more awesome)
     
  13. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought it would be easier than it turned out. We are going to a convention in Lisbon and I wanted to make keychains for gifts. Thanks so much for the help. I will let you know how it all turns out. I will post it once I'm done.....if I finish it:)
     
  14. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a laser that bolts to the cbeam?
     
  15. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    613
    Sure! Just search for "445nm laser module" - we (due to safety concerns) wont recommend a specific vendor or product at this time, but there are lots of 445nm laser modules. They are great at engraving just not at cutting. But since you have a router too.... Laser all the art. Then switch to the router to do the cuts.
     
  16. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    609
    The trace function I mentioned is the "trace bitmap" function. For instance, you find some free clipart you like. You save the picture from the internet and convert it to a .bmp image. Open in inkscape, size the image to how large you want it I'm mm or pixels - your choice, the select "trace bitmap" from one of the drop-down menu. I cant remember which . It will make you a nice clean and sharp image for engraving or cutting. You can delete the original and be left with the final picture. It can be exported as an SVG or many other file types. Search Google for trace bitmap Inkscape. Someone has most likely made a video tutorial. I use it a lot. It works great.
     
  17. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah...I thought you meant literal trace. I have used the trace bitmap and find it not detailed for my current needs. I did finally get fusion to work my tool path yesterday. What a learning curve! I have not tried it yet, but have high hopes
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    343
    What post processor are you using with Fusion 360? I haven't checked all your G code (its a long file), but you have tool changes in there which grbl doesn't support. Grbl will ignore the T4 and T13, but M6 will cause an alarm.
    Alex.:(
     
  19. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used 2d trace for the face and 2d contour for the outside. As I am ne to this I'm not sure how to correct the problems you bring up. I do not know how to read the code and so was relying on the software to complete the work for me. There is an add-in called shaper that I did not try. I'm not sure if I am answering your question correctly or not. Man! after feeling triumphant last night, I am wondering if I'm back to square one
     
  20. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    343
    Hi @Matt Thorniley, I'm on my phone at the moment and about to have lunch, if someone else doesn't give you the info you need before me I'll give you the links to get a suitable post processor and how to install it later. It's not difficult and you're probably almost there.
    Alex. ;)
    PS what controller are you using and what software to send your G code to it.
     
  21. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    613
  22. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no.exe. How do I load this and where?
     
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    613
  24. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using the openbuilds software.
     
  25. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    613
    The post processor is for Fusion, to tell it to export Grbl compatible gcode.... grbl only understands a subset of the whole gcode standard. Install it in Fusion as shown above.
     
    Alex Chambers likes this.
  26. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    343
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  27. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    343
  28. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I could not get the Github one to work but Fusion had another add-in. How does this one look for the trace? I will do a separate one for the contour due to bit change. The 2nd file is my attempt using the Github file
     

    Attached Files:

  29. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    317
    It will error out because of the tool call and you'll probably have G2/G3 errors as well. Lets figure out why the linked post didnt work. What happen? How did you get the file? via copy/paste or did you download the zip?
     
  30. Matt Thorniley

    Matt Thorniley Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    what do you mean by tool call? I downloaded the zip and copied into a folder. I referenced that folder as directed. I get an error message now that says grbl is set to metric. How do I change that?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice