Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

New to the CNC game: Questions

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Michael Cramer, Dec 5, 2020.

1. Michael Cramer

Builder

Hello all! Let me just start out by saying that i am brand new to the world of CNC. I just finished assembling my Lead 1515 and just ran my Hello World and i am so excited with the possibilities. With that being said, i am also feeling very overwhelmed. I have a bunch of questions that are hopefully easy to answer and i am hoping for some help from you all. I would appreciate as detailed answers as you can and don't assume that i know anything because i likely don't know. I apologize in advance if i am asking questions that have already been asked on here before. I have never posted on forums before and have no clue how to effectively search for what i am looking for and honestly don't know how to ask some of the questions i need answered just yet.

1. I used the new xyz probe and it worked awesome to zero out the bit (i think, it looked awesome while it did it's thing). But i don't actually understand what i did during the process. Like, how is that actually working and what does it actually do? In the openbuilds video, he uses a piece of paper to zero out his bit and then hits the re-zero button before he runs the job. Is this something i have to do still even after the probe?

2. When i started the hello world, it looked like it started good and it made awesome precise cuts, but when it got to the WORLD section at the bottom, it cut the bottom edge profile off but the WORLD letters remained intact. How do i know where the position of the file will be and how to prevent what happened so i would still be able to see the border?