Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

New to cnc . Any free encodes on forum ?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Tom Bellfoy, Mar 21, 2020.

1. Tom Bellfoy

Builder

I am brand new to cnc. Waiting for my open builds lead 1010 kit to arrive. I am in Canada, kit waiting in by ready to be picked up. not traveling due to Clovid19.
    Was wondering if there are any free encode files that can be downloaded.
    Also wondering if open builds free software can be used off line since don't have black box yet.
    Tom

2. Tom Bellfoy

Builder

Spell check screwed up
    Kit is in new York waiting to be picked up.
    Gcodes not encodes
    Tom

3. Alex Chambers

Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

Your best way to use the time until your machine arrives would be getting used to the cad/cam software you plan to use. What were you thinking of using?
    Alex.

4. Tom Bellfoy

Builder

Hi Alex. Thanks for responding.
    I had a quick look at fusion 360 and will likely go that route. I have no idea how to go from there to using the open builds software. Big learning curve ahead.

5. Alex Chambers

Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

Fusion 360 has a steep learning curve, but it's worth it in my view - especially as its self-contained - cad and cam combined. Fusion will produce grbl compatible g-code and you can us Openbuilds Control (free software) to send the g-code to the blackbox. Fusion is free for hobby Use (earn less than $1,000/year from it) but expensive if you have to pay for it.

6. Tom Bellfoy

Builder

Alex:
    In your opinion
    Which one would I be better off starting with - since I am so very new to CAD would I be better off to learn sketchup instead of Fusion 360 ?
    I'm not a young buck anymore, just trying to make it easier on myself
    Tom

7. Alex Chambers

Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder