Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Nema 23 acceleration settings adjusted after months of use

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Mallardduck31, Apr 29, 2020.

1. Mallardduck31

Builder

Guys,
    I have been running the Workbee 1000 for a few months now and not have too many issues. Today, I started running a job and immediately noticed the x axis grinding to a halt between moves (missing steps I would guess). I tested about 10 times and the same issue. I then just jogged the country axis manually and noticed the same grinding and stalling. I disconnected the lead screw and found now catch points. I then went in and lowered the acceleration from 100 mm/sec down to 50 and all is well. Moved up to 75 and all is well. Worked all the way to 200 and thought maybe that wasn’t the issue.

Any thoughts?

thanks
    Chuck

2. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Which controller do you have?
    Does the motor stall
    - almost right away
    - only when moving fast
    - only under load
    - how is the current adjustment on that axis set at present

3. Mallardduck31

Builder

I am using the black box. It seems to stall at the beginning of the move. Was running a lot of air runs so no load and still saw the problem. The current pot is set fairly low ( maybe quarter turn).

I just run a bunch of air runs and ramped up the speed to almost 400ipm and no stalling whatsoever with the acceleration at 200. I am more confused now.

is the stepper starting to fail?

4. Mallardduck31

Builder

Just ran a couple of gcode files and all went well until the final move to the zero position. It stalled in X. DRO reads 0,0 but it’s about 3” shy of getting to X zero.

5. Peter Van Der Walt