Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Need help with the Blackbox Limit Switches.

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by thatguypeter, Mar 17, 2019.

  1. thatguypeter

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    I got all the axises running right, so I try to install the limit switches on the X,Y, and Z. The Z work when I push the "Home All" it will stop when the switch is hit. The it will pop up an alert with "Homing Fail cycle..." and make a clicking sound on the motors for the x and y.

    $5 = 1
    and the limit invert is set to option 3
    soft and hard limit = disable

    Peter
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Checkout OpenBuilds CONTROL from software.openbuilds.com > use the troubleshooting tab to check that limit switch hits are properly registering. (That will ensure you have $5 set correctly)

    The error message comes from grbl: See gnea/grbl for details. Sadly you truncated the message
    so we don't see the important part. "Homing fail: <one of 4 different reasons here> ... is printed in the message. Knowing which one I could've given advice. If wiring and $5 is correct, then most likely you dont have enough pull-off ($27 gnea/grbl) to clear the switch after homing.

    Check what the error message actually says (and in future, try grabbing a screenshot to post, just helps us to help you better too) if you dont come right - we'll be able to check from there
     
  3. thatguypeter

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi,

    So I switched the limit to be set as "Off" and to "On" when its triggers. Here are the screen shot. It give the same failure message with the pins switched too.

    Peter
     

    Attached Files:

  4. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    631
    I had the same problem. 1mm is not enough of a pull off distance to "unclick" the switch. Change it to a higher value. Like 3mm or even 5mm.
     
  5. thatguypeter

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    I did and it still did not work..I even went up to 10MM..and still same result....What was your other setting for the limit switches?

    Peter
     

    Attached Files:

  6. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    631
    I have my switches wired to normally open so my invert limit pin setting is disabled.

    In your images, you still have pull off set to 1mm. Not sure if you changed it back to that after trying 10mm.
     
  7. thatguypeter

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hey, I changed it back to 1MM to see if it was something else I can trouble shoot. I am new to GRBL and its a learning curves for me right now.
     
  8. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    631
    I hear ya. It takes some time. Anyhow, in your first post, you have your switches wired to Normally Open, so change your "invert limit pin" to disabled.
     
    crnrstndes likes this.
  9. thatguypeter

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12

    I updated more screen shots..hopefully you can help me get this working! thanks Peter
     
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    The error message says its Homing Pull off..

    So check what it does when it homes. Should hit Z switch, then X and Y. Once all three is hit, it should reverse out of the switches till they all clear. Watch the machine check which switch isnt released. Or after the alarm, check troubleshooting tab, is any switch still active?

    When it reverses does it move the specified mm's? If not set your steps per mm. You might have 10mm pull off, but with wrong steps its only moving 1mm? As an example.
     
  11. thatguypeter

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    I got the limit switches working.. Had to recalculated all the stepper motor movements.. They were all off. Once it was setup right, the pull off work correctlY.
    Peter
     
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Yay!
     
  13. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    What settings did you end up with??
    Thanks
    Steve B.
     
  14. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    Shawn: Hi there, I have a quick question I was hoping you could answer. I don't have a lot of experience with limit switches. I bought the BlackBox because my Arduino Uno/ C-Shield would never work right with the LS. I set up my BlackBox and tested the X Axis switches and they do what I think they are supposed to. When they hit the alarm sounds and when I reset the alarm and try to move the machine off the switch, it sets the alarm off again. So I reset the alarm again and move the machine off the switch and it is fine. Is this normal?? Thanks for your help!
    Steve B.
     
  15. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    631
    Yes. Kinda hard to explain but if you trigger the switch with your finger, you might notice that it engages and disengages in slightly different spots. Basically when you clear the first alarm, the gantry hasnt moved far enough off the switch to disengage. That's also why there is a pull off setting in the grbl config.
     
    crnrstndes likes this.
  16. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    Thanks for the reply, yes when I trigger the switch with my finger the alarm sounds and then when I reset the alarm it goes back to normal. But if I run the machine into the switch it alarms but there isn't a pulloff, I have to do it manually. So the first time after the alarm I try to move the gantry 1" but it probably goes the 5mm and then sets the alarm again, then I try the 1" and it works! I think it is normal!

    Thanks
     
  17. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    631
    The pull off value is only used for homing, but I mentioned it because its needed so you dont get alarms after homing. :)
     
  18. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    631
    Its setting $23 Homing direction invert. You probably want it set to 3 if ts set to 0 now.
     
  19. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    Thanks Shawn, I deleted the post because I figured out the solution. I wasn't saving the setting to the firmware so it was reverting back to the default. Because I deleted the question, I will repeat it for others. When I Homed All the machine would home to the top right position but I wanted it to home to the lower left position! At $23 in the Open Builds Control and inverted the X and Y AND THEN SAVE IT TO THE FIRMAWARE!! Works like a charm now!!
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  20. thatguypeter

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12

    Just go through the calibration setting in the software. My setting were based on my stepper motors spec and belts. I also had to set the table size in the system. Once that was done it work great.
     
  21. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have a C-beam XL with lead screws. The software in Open Builds was within .005mm so it was good enough for me!! Ehanks for the reply!
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  22. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    So another issue has come up! I have everything set up fine and homing works great. My issue now is my limit switches don't alarm when I trigger the switch with my finger. It homes fine and then if I hit the wrong direction it crashes into the limit switches and they fail? Is this because homing is on or is there another issue I haven't addressed? Thanks
     
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Check that Hard Limits is enabled

    I know its a lot, but read github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki

    If you spend an hour reading it all, you will forever have a deep understanding of Grbl and never have to suffer again. In fact, armed with knowledge you will soon be the guy helping others here with the answers :)
     
    Gary Caruso, crnrstndes and sharmstr like this.
  24. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    Thanks
    Peter I will check!
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  25. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    You were right Peter. I enabled the hard limits and it still wouldn't work, at first I thought "is it my wiring"?? But then DOH I hadn't saved my settings! Works great thanks!
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  26. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Awesomeness! Always a satisfying feeling when you figure it all out! You go! Now whens the pics of the test cuts coming? Lol
     
  27. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    I am presently using Easel for inlaying my cutting boards but lately something has changed and the tolerances seem off but when I learn v carving and get the tolerances dialed in I will post a few pics!
     
  28. Cortellini

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    28
    Hello Peter.

    On Monday I fired up my Workbee 1510 after completing the kit build and was delighted when it came to life.
    Unfortunately, although the machine jogged as expected, the limit (L) switches appeared not to work. At "Home All" I had to stop the machine at the Z homing due to noise in the motor. I have spent the last three days checking and rechecking the Grbl settings and reviewing Mark's build video. At present the X axis L switch seems to be working but the Y and Z switches show no signs of life. I looked at the Troubleshooting tab and the Status column of the "Inputs/Endstops" reads "Off" for all three switches. Can you lend some advice?

    Conrad
     
  29. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Ahh man, sorry to hear :)

    Can you help me with some pictures of your wiring: switch side, and connector? :)
    Also, cross-compare with the documentation? OpenBuilds BlackBox 4X Documentation

    Troubleshooting is a good indicator, until that reacts to switch, nothing else will work right.
    Grbl sends as a "Pn:" message in response to signal pin changes.
     
  30. Cortellini

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    28
    Peter,

    Here are some photos. Let me know if you need anything else - Thanks for your help.

    Conrad

    1 A Motor.JPG 1 X Limit.JPG 1 X Motor.JPG 1 Y Limit.JPG 1 Y Motor.JPG 1 Z Limit.jpg 1 Z Motor.JPG ControlBoard.jpg
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice