Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Need Help with Router / Laser Build

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Daniel Wayne, Dec 30, 2020.

1. Daniel Wayne

Builder

Hello everyone, I am new to OpenBuilds, so hopefully I am going about this correctly. Our company has a large 5' x 20' CNC router that we use for flattening large wood slabs and cutting wood countertop shapes / custom routing and engraving, etc. We have learned that it is best to leave that machine for our big heavy bulk work and employ a second CNC for more finesse work and even laser engraving. So, I'd like to ping the community regarding the LEAD 1515 to see if my requirements are in alignment with this machine or if I should be looking at different models. Here goes...

Major Requirements
    • Modular - it seems this can be achieved by placing the 1515 on the appropriate sized rolling tables that OpenBuilds provides
    • Spoil board when sitting on the rolling table, but open framed (bottomless) when removing the CNC from the table and placing it on top of large work items (ie. conference table tops, etc.) - This is the one I am unsure of. I have no concern about the spoilboard when on the rolling table, but I'm unsure if the 1515 can support only having two connector frame pieces out at the ends instead of having the typical cross members. The idea is to have a complete open bottom so that routing and lasering can happen on top of the work item without interference from the CNC frame.