Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Need help ! My computer is crashing/overheating using Lead CNC 1010

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by SebLamp, May 27, 2020.

1. SebLamp

SebLamp New
    Builder

Hello everyone,

I'm an high school science teacher and responsible for our school robotics team. A few months ago, we decided to buy a CNC router so our team could machine our own parts.

For a few weeks, it worked very well with different plastics and some aluminium. Just before our school shutdown with Covid-19, we started running into this problem:

Halfway or three quarters through the job, our laptop linked to the blackbox crashes.
    Let me say first, I’m really sorry for the lack of details (I’m not the one operating the CNC)
    Here's what I know: The laptop is fairly recent (it’s a one year old DELL with pretty good specs)

The crashes always occur when working on aluminium. We don't have an error message for the CNC since the laptop instantly reboots with a fatal error recovery message. (I don't have screenshot or pictures since it happened more than 2 months ago and we didn't test the CNC since)

So we're not sure if it's a crash or an overheat (or both)

Does anyone know of this kind of problem?

Any help would really be appreciated

2. romamaker

romamaker Well-Known
    Builder