Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Moving to 0,0,0 after homing in OpenBuilds Control

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by SeanD, Mar 31, 2021.

  1. SeanD

    SeanD Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    65
    When I click the home button in OpenBuilds Control it works great and moves to the vertical top and closest left point on the machine.

    It previously would also set my x,y,z to 0 on the screen but hasn’t done that since a lot of versions ago.

    What I want to achieve is via GCode in my file, is there a command to return to the machine’s homed location?
     
  2. ljvb

    ljvb Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    87
    Review the GRBL documentation. There is the Work Coordinates and Machine Coordinates, what you seem to be asking is for the Machine Coordinate 0's. If so, I found this here G Code Introduction | MillRight CNC, LLC (this may or may not be up to date)

    Code:
    G0 G21 G90
    G54 X-100 Y-100
    G53 X-100 Y-100
    G0 X-100 Y-100
    
     
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    We include the GCODEs we use on the menu item as a bit of learning assistance :)

    upload_2021-3-31_15-11-39.png

    Option 1: Returns to where you last did a SETZERO
    Option 2: Pulls Z up and out of the way to G53's Z-5 (Z0 would hit the switch, so we stop just 5mm short of that to prevent an alarm) and then brings XY where-ever you had last done a SETZERO, and then drops Z down to where you had last SETZEROd Z.
    Option 3: Returns you to where you homed - provided your Grbl settings are correct.

    That was a bug, you cannot return to Machine Zero because that will hit the switches, you have to stop just short of them to prevent an alarm. Thus the G53 G0 Z-5 and then G53 G0 X-5 Y-5 - note to send it on two seperate lines, you want to get Z up and away before attempting any XY moves to prevent crashes

    G53 in front of the command, tells it to move in Machine Coordinates
     
  4. SeanD

    SeanD Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    65
    Thanks for all the help! Working perfectly now.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  5. ljvb

    ljvb Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    87
    Is the -5 hard coded, or pulling the value from the pull off distance setting. Just curious.

     
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Hard coded, no complaints in the last couple years.

    You move to just before the switch trigger point, you don't trigger the switch. Pull off is there to "clear the switch" ie after a hit. If you never hit it, you should never need to clear out of it.
     
  7. ljvb

    ljvb Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    87
    Maybe a nice to have feature request to squeeze out those last few mm of travel. Depending on the switch type, might be able to use a smaller pull off. But otherwise I was not complaining, was just curious.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Log it :)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice