Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Lock Out

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Mike Longden, Jun 26, 2020.

  1. Mike Longden

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    I’m trying to run my first job (Spoilboard Surfacing) on my WorkBee, and the z will raise up a bit but as soon as it starts to move in X or Y it locks out.

    I have soft limits set which is about a half inch larger than the area size that I’m wanting to surface.

    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you,

    Mike Longden
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Does it throw an error/alarm or what do you mean by lock-out

    Posting screenshots, log copies, etc helps us see what you see :)
     
  3. Mike Longden

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes it starts by raising the Z, then it stops and throws several alarmS when it starts to move in X & Y.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Error 9's are related to the prior Alarm 2 (because the first error put Grbl into ALARM state, the machine is "locked out" and not accepting subsequent moves)

    Alarm 2 says clearly: "G-code motion target exceeds machine travel. Machine position safely retained. Alarm may be unlocked." - see gnea/grbl

    So you are sending a job that would make Grbl hit a soft limit: either because machine was not homed correctly, Zero WCS was set in wrong spot, or job is just bigger than the values set for Max Travel gnea/grbl

    Grbl check the current position, looks at the move, and sees it will exceed max travel. It does not execute the move as it knows it will "crash" (Given the info you have it about itself it terms of where Home is, where the current zero is set, what max travel is set to etc) and instead enters ALARM state.

    I mostly suspect incorrect homing: Refer to gnea/grbl

    If you are just starting out, forgo Soft Limits, Homing etc, just work in Work Coordinates - keep it simple, build up skill.
    Three extra Xtension Limits to have hard limits on both ends is cheap insurance, until you grasp work/machine coordinates/homing/etc
     
    #4 Peter Van Der Walt, Jun 26, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2020
  5. Mike Longden

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks, I’ll try making the necessary changes.
     
  6. Mike Longden

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Pic 1.jpg Pic 2.jpg Pic 3.jpg Pic 4.jpg Pic 5.jpg Pic 6.jpg Pic 7.jpg Pic 8.jpg Pic 9.jpg Well, not being familiar with this software or G-code is making my head spin. Still not able to get this surfacing job ran. I saw a post that was talking about making sure that when your machine is in its home position, that it needs to be zeroed. I'm assuming that its is for all X, Y, & Z? Not being familiar with what can and shouldn't be done with the GRBL Settings, complicates the learning process. I modified the standard Workbee 1010 setup, so the default settings will not apply, and the Max need to be adjusted to configure with this unit. I'm attaching some photos and screen shots in hopes that someone may be able to assist me with getting this lined out. I had a friend stop by about a week ago and made some adjustments, and he also set the soft stop limits, but I'm thinking that that are incorrect and are whats causing this issue? I was told that they should be as close to the maximum travel limits as possible. I also don't know how to make those changes, and I also saw in the other post that the soft limits need to be off for it to home correctly?
     
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    1) disable Sofr Limits until you have learned more about the hobby. Ease yourself into the advanced features

    2) setzeroxyz is simple. Jog to where job should run from, and click set zero

    Watch the Hello World video under docs.openbuilds.com > BlackBox
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
  9. Mike Longden

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks Peter, I’ve been struggling with do I do this or do I do that? Learning curve can be a bit frustrating at times. Thanks again
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  10. Mike Longden

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Why would it go straight to a hard limit switch when the job button is pushed, instead of starting the job? I've made my surfacing path about a half of an inch less in size, than my maximum work area, which is the homing degrees. My original intent was to use my 1 1/2" surfacing tool and let the tool cut just to the outside of the actual boundary of the machine heads maximum movement without crashing into the hard stops. That didn't work so I made the milling area small to fit into that max area by 1/4" and it still heads for the hard stop limit switches???
     
  11. Christian James

    Christian James Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    59
    I suspect that you did not do what Peter suggested regarding homing. If not, go into the grbl settings, disable homing and soft limits then just use the jog buttons to get to where you want to start then zero X and Y and set Z to top of spoilboard.

    Limit switch problems certainly take up a lot of Real estate on this forum. I think that new builders should be encouraged initially to get stuck into making things and gaining some experience with CNC before worrying about limit switches. I have them on my machine (disabled) but don't bother with them at all.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  12. Mike Longden

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you, I had only disabled the soft stops. I’ll disable the others too.
     
  13. Roger Beseke

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    6
    I guess I would make sure that the home (starting) position in your g-code matches the physical position. If your program assumes the carriage is in the middle of your machine and you have it physically located elsewhere, can cause these sorts of problems. Don't bother the ask me how I know.
     
  14. Mike Longden

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    That’s exactly what it ended up being. Got all of the max usable area setup and it’s working great. Got the first surfacing pass complete and will be working on tramping it tomorrow. Thanks to all those who assisted me with this mystery.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  15. dprice

    dprice New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Feeling lost is perfectly normal ;)

    Yesterday my machine wouldn't home....or move at all. I clicked the home button 2 or 3 times, restarted control, connected and disconnected the USB connection...nothing. I finally had to turn on the power supply to make it work :rolleyes:
     
    Giarc and Peter Van Der Walt like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice