Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Knockoff Workbee binds and goes beyond Homing limit

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Mike Couillard, Oct 5, 2019.

1. Mike Couillard

Builder

Hi all total noob here. I bought the Xpro v4. Hooked it up and it works great! The issue I'm having is when I go to Home the XYz axis the machine will go to the limit switch and continue on. It doesn't stop automatically when the alarm kicks on in the Control software. have to hit the kill switch. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. I'm sure it's human error somewhere (or lot's of somewheres) Here's a screen shot and the Grbl settings. Thanks in advance for any help!!! I have a 1500x1500 workbee. In have to add that even though I increase feed rate the machine can't or won't move faster than 10in/min

I have to add that even though I increase feed rate the machine can't or won't move faster than 10in/min on X and Y (Nema 23) However I have a 2.2KW spindle and Nema 23 high torque on the Z axis (nema 23 couldn't handle the weight and dragged the Z axis down to the spoilboard) and feed rate is no issue on the Z axis. Thoughts? Maybe I'm wrong but it seems like the X and Y motors are struggling with the weight. Any help would be much appreciated so thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

Attached Files:

#1 Mike Couillard, Oct 5, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 5, 2019
  2. sharmstr

sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

When homing it will first do the Z (moves up). If it continues to move up after hitting the switch, it means your switch isnt working. You can go into the troubleshooting tab and check the switch. Just trigger it with your finger and see if the Z-Limit turns "On" (red). If not, check your wiring.

In normal operation, it will find your z switch, back off of it, then move to find X and Y.