Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

It-Tech Goliat

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Coiloil, Feb 14, 2024.

1. Coiloil

Coiloil New
    Builder

Hi All, has anyone come across this machine before or a similar design.
    I’m in the market for a hobby cnc for around £1000, so I’ve been looking at various bees on AliExpress but I came across this build on eBay. It seems a decent machine for the price but I was wondering what peoples opinions would be of this particular build.
    Build Your Own New Precise Ballscrew CNC Router Machine - IT-TECH
    thanks in advance

2. EvanH

EvanH Well-Known
    Builder

Hope this is not too late, but yep, I have been running one for about 18 months now. I have the model with the 580mm stroke Y, and X 830mm (with 80mm useable on the Z when I added in a simple end-stop switch). I have the 3Nm motor option. I made my own control electronics based on fluidnc and external drivers. You will need to add end stop switches to each axis and use a controller that can auto-square Y for best performance.

If you are going to put a router on it, then any of the motor options are likely to be fine. I put a 2.2kW water cooled spindle on mine (the spindle was from IT-Tech too). The folks at IT-Tech were great and made sure that 80mm mount brackets were fitted that suit the spindle. With the 2kW spindle, the Z-stepper supplied was a shade underpowered and I would lose Z-steps occasionally, but I put a larger stepper on the X, and used the 3Nm old X-stepper on the Z, and it ran a treat. I run mine with 7m/s rapid moves with the upgraded X and Z motors and acceleration of 200mm/s^2 and have no trouble with lost steps.