Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Is this even possible?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Ken Ewald, Jan 16, 2024.

1. Ken Ewald

Ken Ewald New
    Builder

HI,

Old man learning new stuff. I'm thinking about building a custom CNC machine to use in creating clarinet bells. The concept is that the machine would cut both the inner and outer profiles simultaneously.

The attachment is a conceptual drawing. As the bell is being turned by the lathe, the lathe table will move the bell in the X axis. One cutter (spindle or turning tool - not sure) would follow the inner profile through the opening in the tailstock while the other cutter follows the outer profile. I suppose one cutter would be the Y axis and the other the Z axis, although in the same physical plane.

I have no experience in CAD/CAM, though I've drawn many woodworking/construction projects using Sketchup and am beginning to learn Fusion 360.

Is it possible to do this?

Thanks,

Ken

Attached Files:

2. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Not sure how you would finish the end of the bells. If I was doing it, I would probably start with a uniform diameter block, gripped entirely at the drive end leaving the bell end open. And then slowly whittle it down on both axes toward that drive end.

The only other potential issue I see is the length of the interior bit. The longer bits get the less interested they seem in cutting as they tend to flex. You may need a router at the end capable of holding a larger diameter bit.

Ken Ewald likes this.
  3. Giarc

Giarc OpenBuilds Team

I have found some longer 8mm ball nose and regular end mills I use for roughing out deeper 3D carves. They are fairly stiff. You can get 8mm ER11 collets for the OB RoutER11 and Elaire makes them for the Makita and DeWalt (maybe others, too). Router Collets - Elaire Corp

Ken Ewald likes this.
  4. David the swarfer