Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

IOT Switching Relay Power Strip

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by KEITHABEAR, Feb 11, 2020.

  1. KEITHABEAR

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    I brought a power relay and need to know how to wire to a
    xPRO V3
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    pretty much like the BlackBox: OpenBuilds BlackBox 4X Documentation except refer to Spark-Concepts/xPro-V4 and use the Spindle PWM terminal (same as BlackBox's Toolhead connector, it has just about the same pins just different order)
     
  3. KEITHABEAR

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    I know the XPRO V3 is obsolete so I went to spark concepts web site and installed relay box to the spindle PWM and it turns thew spindle off and on but it does not regulate the the RPM
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    IoT "Relay" not IoT Speed controller (; Its just a relay: ON or OFF
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,248
  6. KEITHABEAR

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks got it
     
  7. KEITHABEAR

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    On the picture this is where I installed the wires from the relay box Screenshot (41).png
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    Correct, but the IOT Relay is just a "relay" - can switch or or switch off... it cannot do speed control. For that you need a SuperPID (and modify your router to remove the onboard speed control - pretty unsafe high voltage work) or a VFD Spindle
     
  9. KEITHABEAR

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks, still learning
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice