Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

how to register the starting zero point with openbuildsControl

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by didiersee, Oct 10, 2019.

  1. didiersee

    didiersee New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello I'm didier from Belgium and I have Litle CNC3018. But i have some problems to make my circuit boards (PCB). First my CNC stop when screen saver ON. Second how to memory and registrer the zero point (Start point) on Openbuilds.
    Thank you for help me.
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,115
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    Grbl saves work coordinates as an offset from home. So

    A) home the machine with limit switches
    B) jog to where you want 0,0,0
    C) click Set zero button near DRO

    After rehoming offset will always be there till you setzero elsewhere.

    Or instead of homing and persistant location, usually easier to jog to where you want to start, hit setzero, run the job.

    Screensaver and power: disable power management on a pc running a CNC. Its not excel, it needs to be on all the time
     
  3. didiersee

    didiersee New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you very much but me what interests me is to memorize the starting point that is not always that of the machine but depends on my circuit board print.
    And how to change speed for tool ON because my CNC is 20000trs/min and tool on give max 1000trs/min my cnc isn't start with 1000T/min?
     
    #3 didiersee, Oct 10, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,115
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    Grbl stores the offsets automatically. But like I said, most users dont bother with saved starting points. Every piece of stock you want to cut, will be a little different thickness and in a different spot on the bed. So jog to its corner, then click setzero before running the job

    trs/min is that RPM? Grbl can control PWM spindles using the S command in addition to settings $30 and $31

    Read the entire Grbl wiki it has all the answers you need: github.com/gnea/grbl
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice