Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

How to calibrate Z-Axis?

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by jeffmorris, May 9, 2019.

  1. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    30
    I have CNC XPro V3 board, DQ542MA Stepper Motor Drivers, and CNC router with ball screws. I use OpenBuilds Control software. How do I calibrate Z-Axis? I already calibrated X and Y axis. I found out that I have to use 316.032 steps/mm for X and Y axis. It is impossible to use a ruler.
     
  2. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    343
    If you have calipers that will measure depth then machine a pocket in suitable material (not wood - acrylic or aluminium for best accuracy) and measure the actual depth compared to the programmed depth. You need a fairly accurate measuring tool like calipers because you will only want to machine (say) 10mm or so.
    Alex.
     
    Aussie58 and sharmstr like this.
  3. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    30
    I have digital calipers but I don't have acrylic or aluminum. I think I saw a video on calibrating Z-Axis using calipers but I don't remember which one.
     
  4. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    343
  5. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    571
    ah! calipers!
    with those you can measure 2 things, 1 thing about .5" thick and another of 1 to 2" thick (depends on your Z travel). Ball races would be good. bigger difference is better.

    Then use the technique at 03:14 in this video to jog to the height of the small one and set zero there.

    Then set the height with the larger item (by jogging carefully as before).

    Now the GUI shows the 'commanded distance' and the 'actual distance' is the difference between the measured sizes of the objects you are using.

    Then you can use the wizard to calibrate, or just use the formula from
    C-Beam™ Machine - Plate Maker
     
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    613
    V1.0.166 or older of OpenBuilds CONTROL -> Connect to Machine -> Grbl Settings Tab -> Scroll down to $100-102 -> Click the "Fine Tune" button
    v1.0.167 or newer of OpenBuilds CONTROL (Coming out soon) -> Wizards and Tools -> Calibrate [x,y or z from menu]

    wizardcalib.PNG
     
    David the swarfer likes this.
  7. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    30
    After trying to calibrate Z-Axis a few times, I jogged the Z-Axis so that it touches a piece of wood using a piece of paper as feeler gauge. I made a mark on the Z-Axis carriage. I used "Fine Tune" tool to move Z-Axis up 50mm. I made another mark on the carriage. I made marks on piece of paper. I measured the distance between marks using ruler. I entered the distance into tool. I found out that the steps/mm was 366.6667 so I changed it to 632.064. I cut out flowers from piece of wood and it worked.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  8. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    30
    I think that the feed speed is too fast. How can I reduce the feed speed? I have VCarve software.
     
  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    613
    In VCarve you need to edit the Tool, and change the parameters:

    EDIT FEED.PNG
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice