Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Hooking up one stepper motor to test wiring

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by HarveyMatyas, Jun 27, 2022.

  1. HarveyMatyas

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2021
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi

    I purchased the Openbuilds controller along with the power supply. I plan on using the controller on my HD3 Shark CNC. However, I want to be able to switch back to use my 4th axis. So I plan on making a patch cables to attach my steppers to so I can go back and forth. Can I make one cable and then hookup that stepper to the Openbuilds controller to test to see if it works or do I have to make all 3 cables and hook them up at once?
    I read somewhere that if you only have one stepper connected it can cause a problem and destroy the controller board. So I thought I would ask before hooking everything up.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,466
    Likes Received:
    3,360
    You can hook up just one, no problem


    Just remember to turn off power before plugging/unplugging any motors or other cables
     
  3. HarveyMatyas

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2021
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Peter

    Thank you, but I know that and fortunately I have not learned it the hard way! I made one patch cord and connected it to a stepper motor that I had replaced.
    It rotated it and that was followed by cheering. I am now moving everything to my workroom where my CNC is located. I will make 2 more patch cords and then
    use my old controller to place the X,Y and Z axis in the middle of the machine. I will then turn that off, disconnect the steppers, connect them to the Openbuilds controller,
    turn that one and test each motor. Once they all work and in the right direction. I start to calibrate each one. Then a test cut. Later, mainly because I need to do more research I
    want to connect my shark laser. Once that works, then I will try the Vectric laser modular that works with GRBL to do a 3D stuff. Thank you for your help.
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,466
    Likes Received:
    3,360
  5. HarveyMatyas

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2021
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Peter What I want to do is laser over a 3D object (4) NEW Vectric Laser Module | Vectric Hybrid CNC and Laser Software - YouTube I purchased the software to be able to
    have a laser follow a 3d path. It works with GRBL and some other vendor CNCs. When it first came out, Next Wave had a post processor to do this. They have since removed
    their name from that list. Do you know how I can hookup Next Wave 2-Watt laser? There are 3 wires that connect to the old HD3 controller. I'm hoping that one wire is ground, one
    is voltage and one is signal but at this point I am not sure.
    Thank you for your help.
    Harvey
     
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10,466
    Likes Received:
    3,360
  7. HarveyMatyas

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2021
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    That is what I was hoping for.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice