Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Grbl problems from Italy

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Francesco Bravi, Sep 10, 2022.

1. Francesco Bravi

Builder

Hello everyone, my name is Francesco Bravi and I am writing to you from Italy.
    First of all I wanted to introduce myself and share with you what I do, I am 34 years old and for 11 years I have had a business that deals with printing on objects, engravings, millings and much more,

Last month I broke a board of a desk engraver, I promptly replaced the controller with in arduino and GRBL, all smooth until I stopped for the limit switches, basically when the machine touches the limit switch then it no longer moves too pressing the "abort" key on openbuilds.
    I can't figure out how to fix this problem, I recognize that I'm self-taught and some things I don't know especially in the software part, I'm better at getting my hands dirty: D
    Not knowing how to do it I decided to see if there was a forum on openbuilds, and so here I am writing to you for help.

Sorry for my English too but I used automatic translator because I was afraid of writing something wrong.

I hope someone can help me,

thanks a lot to everyone and good evening

2. David the swarfer

David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Hi
    GRBL regards a hit on any limit switch as a hard limit and will then stop with an ALARM.
    This is mainly because the Arduino Uno does not have enough pins to have separate switches for home and limit, so it must share limit and home on 1 pin for each axis.

The only time it must hit a switch is during the homing cycle, after that, never go to machine coordinate 0 on any axis.
    For this reason our Fusion360 post has offsets that you can set, the default is -10mm,.
    At the start of a job you will see a
    G53 G0 Z-10
    which means "raise Z as high as you can, but don't hit the switch"