Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

G Code error 11- help

Discussion in 'CAM' started by CaptainSawdust, May 19, 2019.

  1. CaptainSawdust

    CaptainSawdust Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi there,

    Trying to cut my first piece ever using a CNC but had the attached error.

    error: 11 - Max Characters per line exceeded (then a line of G Code)
    Attached is a screenshot.

    Can anyone explain to me what's happened and how to solve it?

    Thank you so much in advance to anyone who can help.
    James
     

    Attached Files:

  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
    The issue is all the digits after the decimals in your coordinates. I dont know any machine on earth that can cut to that type of precision. How is your gcode being generated?
     
  3. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    591
    agree, you only need 4 or 5 digits after the decimal point
     
  4. CaptainSawdust

    CaptainSawdust Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you both so much for your replies.

    I'm using MakerCam as suggested by Jay Bates. Can you recommend a better G Code generator? Would the Open Cam software create the correct standard of code? I've opened the G Code that MakerCam generated and every coordinate seems to be to 12 decimal places!

    James
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    677
    Of course, OpenBuilds CAM was designed exactly to handle our ecosystem
     
  6. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    591
    A long time ago this was supposed to have been fixed in MakerCam
    Rounding Float Values · Issue #4 · shapeoko/makercam
    with a pull request (PR6) but I don't see where that pull was ever merged. OR you have a very old version installed.

    Maybe you should open an issue with MakerCam and have this fixed properly at source?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice