Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Fusion 360 Question

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Michael Cramer, Dec 25, 2020.

  1. Michael Cramer

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hello all. Merry Christmas! i know this isn't exact a machine question but i could really use someones assistance with Fusion360. i have attached two screenshots. When i am in the design phase, everything is good. i am able to select inside the letters and its all good. But when i move to the MFG stage to create tool paths, it wont let me select the areas i want for machining, but just the entire component itself. I cannot for the life of me figure out why this is happening and its never happened on anything else I've done. I did insert the letters from an SVG file but followed the proper steps for inserting it. Can anyone give me a hand here?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    1,197
    You can't select it in the mfg space unless you are assigning a tool path to it.
     
  3. Michael Cramer

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    17
    so how do I assign a tool path? Because I can’t select the letter in the mdf space at all.
     
  4. Michael Cramer

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    17
    Sorry guys I’m dumb. I figured it out.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  5. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    1,197
    For future members with the same issue...

    You need to pick a toolpath first, then click on the text.
     
  6. Rob Taylor

    Rob Taylor Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    666
    Any sketch does this, I've found so far, not just text. You can click on geometry all you like to measure distances, etc. But as soon as the cursor goes near a sketch line, it'll blue out the whole thing.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  7. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    1,325
    I highly recommend watching all of the 'Fusion Friday' series of video on the NYCCNC channel on Youtube.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice