Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Error from Blackbox

Discussion in 'OpenBuilds Forum Help' started by ricklach, Aug 26, 2019.

  1. ricklach

    ricklach New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    9
    Tried to connect to my blackbox for the first time and got this error: ERROR!: No supported firmware detected - you need a controller with Grbl 1.1x on it, or there is a problem with your controller. Closing port COM1

    How do I fix this error?
     
  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    648
    A few things to check

    1 - Are you sure COM1 is the correct port?
    2 - Did you install the FTDI drivers?: Virtual COM Port Drivers
    3 - If all else fails, you can try reflashing using the flashing tool located in the Wizards menu.
     
  3. ricklach

    ricklach New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks, wrong port, that fixed it.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  4. Bobby nath

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did all that an not able to flash I think the board is dead. the TOOL light is on constant. I think the board got a chip sucked in. an it died.
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,252
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    Its flashed by default, no need to flash.
    Any other history? Did it work for a while, then die? Or why are you attempting to reflash?
     
  6. Bobby nath

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for your interest an reply, it worked for abit then died out fully, I disassembled it an found a metal chip inside. It won't connect, no lights on the board either. (USB) I'm guessing it shorted something out.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  7. Damian V-SLOT Poland

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    15
    I will resume the topic.
    I have a similar problem. BlackBox has stopped working 5 minutes after connecting.
    Currently, an error occurs when trying to connect.
    The LED next to the USB port icon (next to the switch on the BlackBox) flashes red twice when attempting to connect.
    Are there any options to save BlackBox or just a return / exchange?
    error-blackbox.PNG
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,252
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    Almost always a wiring issue.
    Disconnect wiring, except USB, and do a couple test runs.
     
  9. Damian V-SLOT Poland

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes Yes. I disconnected everything from the damaged BlackBox and now I have it on my desk. - still the same error.
    I have several BlackBoxes so I can test.
    Now I have 3 blackboxes on my desk (they have nothing connected).
    1 blackbox "damaged" and 2 new blackbox.
    The damaged blackbox shows the error I wrote about.
    I connected another blackbox to the same USB cable and the same port on the laptop and there is no problem connecting.

    To LEAD 1010 in place of the damaged one, I connected a new one, connected all motors, limit switches, power supply and everything works without a problem
     
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,252
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    Nice to have spares on hand, aren't you a distributor though? You are welcome to persue support directly of course

    So of course its impossible to make them bulletproof, the question is what caused the damage, and what the extent is - usually we advise the plug-out test which almost always gets them working (incorrect wiring can short VCC to GND - in particular when users doesn't follow docs.openbuilds.com and wire a micro limit switch with 3 wires (not advised, seen on random google image or youtube video), and further confuse the order of the pins and wire it such that when the limit hits C closes to NO which is wired to V+ and GND which it should not be) - so thats the first test we always advise (unless the description makes it clear that thats not the issue).

    So good, that out of the way, we can then assume the usual is not to blame and the BlackBox picked up some damage, either firmware, or hardware related

    What happened during this 5 minutes: Just sitting there, flashed firmware / wrote config, ran a job, tested jogs, what was happening at the time it lost comms

    Assuming the hardware did not get damaged somehow (PS which power supplies do you use?) its possible it lost firmware.
    1) Have you tried reflashing from Wizards and Tools > Grbl Flashing tool or from Arduino IDE (Just upload Blink as a quick test, BlackBox settings = Arduino Uno board type)
    2) If firmware flash failed as well, possible the bootloader was lost too, in which case
    2.1) do you own an AVRISP or USBTinyISP? And are familiar with bootloading
    2.2) Send it in and we'll restore the firmware for you
     
  11. Damian V-SLOT Poland

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks for answer.
    Yes, I can say - we are distributors in Poland.

    Personally, I connected dozens of BlackBox and Xtension limit switch.
    Rather, I exclude the error associated with incorrect connection.
    Although this can not be ruled out 100%.
    In this case, instead of a faulty BlackBox, I connected a new one and it works.

    This BlackBox was connected to the new LEAD CNC milling machine.
    I tested axis movements, i.e. offset by 1mm, 10mm, 100mm.
    When the Y axis moved 100mm, the driver disconnected.

    MeanWell 350W - 24V (LRS model)

    Nope.I didn`t try.

    No
     
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,252
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    Give that a shot, and then of course, being a distributor, continue with the usual RMA processes, you have direct access to the backend, no need to handle these via the forum.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice